Replacing rear struts - do I need mounts and/or align? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Replacing rear struts - do I need mounts and/or align?


bryanska
12-21-2007, 10:59 AM
I am replacing my rear struts because of 90k miles.

If the mounts aren't making any noise, should I replace them?

Also, do I need an alignment for the rears? Is that possible?

Background:

I got a fantastic deal on rear struts so I thought I'd replace them: $40 for two brand new Delco rears off Craigslist.

I am also doing the front struts & mounts (possibly Quickstrut), so I figured the rears might be worth doing too.

Car is an 02 Alero with FE2 suspension. I think this is the same suspension as the Grand Am SE.

Thanks!

Malaclypse
12-21-2007, 12:05 PM
You're already there so might as well replace the mounts.

And yes you'll need a four-wheel alignment if you're replacing both front and rear struts.

nate2023
12-21-2007, 11:17 PM
if your going with quickstruts everything should already be there.