Olds needs a transmission swap [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Olds needs a transmission swap


Zachl
01-10-2008, 08:21 PM
I'm tired of getting eff'd in the A by a V6 Ford Disgustang because he has a 5spd manual and i only have that retarded 4spd auto. I will eventually put a turbo and i was hoping that someone will help me by directing me to a car with a manual transmission with 5 or 6 gears instead of 4 plz? sorry if there is already a thread for this but i'm a noob here

Panacea
01-10-2008, 08:24 PM
Umm, a 4-banger grand am or alero w/manual tranny?

Rich
01-10-2008, 08:24 PM
well, you do need to try searching a bit, but to help you out. the alero/ga actually came with a 5-speed for the 4 cylinder. there was some talk of using the 6 speed from the G6. there is a sponsor in ohio (milzy) who would do the swap for a fee. stick around here some more before you go buying any transmissions.

*welcome*

Zachl
01-10-2008, 08:46 PM
thx! I have intake and new tires and i kill the mustang in an autocross but i want to beat him in the quarter

Rich
01-10-2008, 08:50 PM
if you do your turbo right you should be able to beat him and you wont need a manual.

Zachl
01-10-2008, 08:51 PM
[QUOTE=Panacea;949438]Umm, a 4-banger grand am or alero w/manual tranny?[/QUOTE/]

Its a hand-me-down automatic alero

Zachl
01-10-2008, 08:55 PM
if you do your turbo right you should be able to beat him and you wont need a manual.

yeah but he wants an sts turbo and if i have more than 4 gears i might be able to keep ahead of him for a bit longer then once i kill his car i will try to beat my friend's del sol with a b18 swap

DrFabulous
01-10-2008, 09:58 PM
Swap the tranny for a 5-speed out of another Alero
Build the engine
Turbo
Still run 13s/14s
:(

DOHC_tuner
01-10-2008, 10:05 PM
hey whats up, what mods do you have on your LD9? OR is it the ecotec? I have an Alero too but prefer the auto because with the stick and spy can agree the dam clutch cant handle them power.

himfanzach
01-10-2008, 10:12 PM
it says he has a gls which if true its the 3400

DOHC_tuner
01-10-2008, 10:15 PM
I know just about everything there is to know about aleros but the trim I dont pay any attention to

AleroME
01-10-2008, 10:15 PM
Yea the alero GLS only came in 3.4L's

DrFabulous
01-10-2008, 10:20 PM
Yea the alero GLS only came in 3.4L's

If thats true, then threadstarter has a long road ahead of him if he insists on using a 5-speed.

DOHC_tuner
01-10-2008, 10:22 PM
the only guy i know that has done a tranny swap on the 3400 Alero is blackjack on aleromod.com so let me know if your still interested. Hes boosted too

AleroME
01-10-2008, 10:27 PM
the only guy i know that has done a tranny swap on the 3400 Alero is blackjack on aleromod.com so let me know if your still interested. Hes boosted too


blackjack didn't put in a 5spd (i don't think), i know he put in a grandprix tranny to handle the power on his turbo'd 3.4 alero at 18psi.

Someone from aleromod if your on here, correct me if i'm wrong. about blackjack's tranny if its auto or 5 spd. Didn't think grandprix came in 5spd. (maybe they did, if i'm wrong correct me again. LOL)

DOHC_tuner
01-10-2008, 10:30 PM
blackjack didn't put in a 5spd (i don't think), i know he put in a grandprix tranny to handle the power on his turbo'd 3.4 alero at 18psi.

oh well i didnt really follow the thread much considering it was a 3400, all i read was he swaped out his tranny so i took it as a stick swap. excuse me for the misleading info...

alerored04
01-10-2008, 10:52 PM
blackjack didn't put in a 5spd (i don't think), i know he put in a grandprix tranny to handle the power on his turbo'd 3.4 alero at 18psi.

Someone from aleromod if your on here, correct me if i'm wrong. about blackjack's tranny if its auto or 5 spd. Didn't think grandprix came in 5spd. (maybe they did, if i'm wrong correct me again. LOL)

you are right. It is a 4t65HD out of a GTP. No N body has a manual yet. There is a guy on here that says he is going to do it but no progress yet. There are manual 3400 beretta and cavaliers out there but they dont have the pcm issues to deal with.

DOHC_tuner
01-11-2008, 05:06 PM
Aleros were available with 5 speeds...so YES there is an N-Body with a 5speed, its an alero

laxjax13
01-11-2008, 06:04 PM
what year mustang are u up against?
if its the older body style you should be killing it...

alerored04
01-12-2008, 12:32 AM
Aleros were available with 5 speeds...so YES there is an N-Body with a 5speed, its an alero
what i meant was that there are no 3400 n bodies with a manual yet. i should have said that.

Zachl
01-14-2008, 01:34 PM
do you guys think that the GX sport with the manual transmission would fit thought? i know it is a 4cyl but possibly with some cutting it would fit the 3400

Zachl
01-14-2008, 01:36 PM
what year mustang are u up against?
if its the older body style you should be killing it...

its a 2005 with like a 4.0L V6