Car lost horsepower while driving - whats the problem? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Car lost horsepower while driving - whats the problem?

maxxoholic420
03-10-2008, 10:33 PM
I was driving out of a parking lot one day and as i was accelerating to around 50-55, I noticed something was wrong. I had the music blasting so the only reason i noticed was that I found the car to be accelerating rather slowly like it was stuggling. I turn down the music and heard some noise coming from under the hood. I stopped the car and listen to the engine revving in neural. It made a clanking sound whenever i revved and was not as apparent when it was idle but i could still hear it. I am no mechanic but suspected something like a connecting rod broke b/c of how the car lost power and the clanking noise but then i thought about it and realized that the engine still started w/ no problem and had no trouble running. Didn't sound like it wanted to stall or anything. One person who knew a little about cars said he thinks it sounds like a busted bearing. The tow truck driver made me drive the car onto the flatbed, which i think was a stupid thing to tell me b/c the car had a problem with power and this just put it under more strain. After i got it home i drove it into the parking spot and now in addition to the clanking sound i hear a loud screeching/squeeling sound. Any ideas guys?! Thanks!!

angrysk8r
03-10-2008, 10:39 PM
Same sort of thing happened to a friends GP, ended up being a spun rod bearing. I wouldn't completely say you're screwed as of yet, see if you can nail down where the noise is coming from.

williamGT
03-10-2008, 10:46 PM
2.4L or 3.4L?

maxxoholic420
03-10-2008, 10:51 PM