fuel and oil pressure gauges [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : fuel and oil pressure gauges


jurgs2007
03-28-2008, 09:22 PM
ok, so i bought some new gauges along with a pillar pod. i2 of the gauges i cant seem to figure out how to hook up... first of all, is the oil pressure gauge... where do i hook up the sending unit for it? same thing for the fuel pressure gauge, i cant find a place to hook up the sending unit. any suggestions?

nickofcourse
03-28-2008, 09:28 PM
i dont know but couldnt you use the wires connected to the stock cluster and hook to the new gauges?

jurgs2007
03-28-2008, 09:30 PM
99 grand am doesnt have oil pressure gauge. only temp gauge

KhellendrosxS
03-28-2008, 10:06 PM
Plug the oil pressure sender into the place where your stock sender is. Its above the oil filter and to the right. You need a special wrench to take it out though. Id suggest using a brass T fitting so you can still have the idiot light in the dash come on.

As for the fuel pressure gauge you need to get a hose to extend off the test port on the fuel rail and screw your sender into the end of it. You also have to remove the schrader valve or you wont get any fuel in your extension line.

gilzgrandam00
03-28-2008, 10:26 PM
D what oil pressure did u get

jurgs2007
03-28-2008, 11:13 PM
what do you mean by what oil pressure did i get? like pressure-wise or mechanical/electrical? it is a 100psi electrical gauge.

AaronGTR
03-29-2008, 10:42 AM
Plug the oil pressure sender into the place where your stock sender is. Its above the oil filter and to the right. You need a special wrench to take it out though. Id suggest using a brass T fitting so you can still have the idiot light in the dash come on.

As for the fuel pressure gauge you need to get a hose to extend off the test port on the fuel rail and screw your sender into the end of it. You also have to remove the schrader valve or you wont get any fuel in your extension line.



Yep, thats exactly what he needs. Oil pressure switch for the light on the instrument panel (idiot light) is a small round unit screwed into the block to the right of the oil filter and knock sensor and above the starter motor. A small brass "T" fitting with a brass extension on the end will give you room to mount both senders on either side of the T away from the block. I believe it's 1/4" NPT thread.

The port on the fuel rail is -6AN. You'll need a short braided hose with a female -6AN fitting on the end (preferably a 90 or 135 degree bend fitting so it fits easier), and for the other end you'll need a male -6AN to 1/8" NPT adapter for the sender.

lightningGA
03-29-2008, 06:21 PM
The port on the fuel rail is -6AN. You'll need a short braided hose with a female -6AN fitting on the end (preferably a 90 or 135 degree bend fitting so it fits easier), and for the other end you'll need a male -6AN to 1/8" NPT adapter for the sender.

Is there any good place online to order the hose from??

AaronGTR
03-30-2008, 12:16 PM
You can get it all at summitracing.com. There are some pre-made hoses you can find, but none of them would really fit perfectly and you'd still need some extra adapters. I think it's cheaper and they fit better if you just make your own. . Here's what you'd need.

1) some -6AN hose, probably 1-3ft or however long you want for where you want to place your sender, about $8-16.

2) part #SUM-220690, -6AN female hose end straight, $4.88. Or you can buy any brand you want for a little more $, or if you want a tighter fit to loop it back across the manifold get this--> part #EAR-812006ERL, Earls -6AN swivel seal hose end 120 degree, $19.95.

3) For the hose end where the sender will go there are several ways you can do it. You can get another straight -6AN female hose end, then get a -6AN male to 1/4" NPT female adapter (aeroquip #AER-FBM2725, $5.39). The sender comes with a 1/4 to 1/8" NPT adapter so you can use that and it will work.

You could also get a -6AN hose end with a 1/8" NPT male end on it (Earls #EAR-820162ERL, $10.75) then get a 1/8" NPT female coupler (Earls #EAR-991001ERL, $2.95) so you could put the sender directly into that.

Basically there are a lot of ways you can do it. You could probably do it with -4AN hose too. You just have to search around for whats available in hose ends and adapters and find the cheapest and/or cleanest way to install.

jurgs2007
03-31-2008, 10:58 AM
ok, so say i go with a brass T to hook up my oil pressure, what size is the stock sensor?

Malaclypse
03-31-2008, 08:16 PM
A small brass "T" fitting with a brass extension on the end will give you room to mount both senders on either side of the T away from the block. I believe it's 1/4" NPT thread.


This.

lightningGA
04-02-2008, 07:13 PM
The port on the fuel rail is -6AN. You'll need a short braided hose with a female -6AN fitting on the end (preferably a 90 or 135 degree bend fitting so it fits easier), and for the other end you'll need a male -6AN to 1/8" NPT adapter for the sender.

You can get it all at summitracing.com. There are some pre-made hoses you can find, but none of them would really fit perfectly and you'd still need some extra adapters. I think it's cheaper and they fit better if you just make your own. . Here's what you'd need.

1) some -6AN hose, probably 1-3ft or however long you want for where you want to place your sender, about $8-16.

2) part #SUM-220690, -6AN female hose end straight, $4.88. Or you can buy any brand you want for a little more $, or if you want a tighter fit to loop it back across the manifold get this--> part #EAR-812006ERL, Earls -6AN swivel seal hose end 120 degree, $19.95.

3) For the hose end where the sender will go there are several ways you can do it. You can get another straight -6AN female hose end, then get a -6AN male to 1/4" NPT female adapter (aeroquip #AER-FBM2725, $5.39). The sender comes with a 1/4 to 1/8" NPT adapter so you can use that and it will work.

You could also get a -6AN hose end with a 1/8" NPT male end on it (Earls #EAR-820162ERL, $10.75) then get a 1/8" NPT female coupler (Earls #EAR-991001ERL, $2.95) so you could put the sender directly into that.

Basically there are a lot of ways you can do it. You could probably do it with -4AN hose too. You just have to search around for whats available in hose ends and adapters and find the cheapest and/or cleanest way to install.

So I ordered everything I needed from Summit:
SUM-230603 S.S. HOSE -6AN 3FT - $13.95
SUM-220687 -6AN 90 HOSE END SWIVEL - $12.95
EAR-820162ERL ST. 1/8 NPT TO -6AN HOSE END - $10.75
EAR-991001ERL 1/8 NPT COUPLING - $2.95

Come to find out it's NOT -6AN port on the fuel rail.
It's smaller...I''m assuming it must be a -4AN...can anyone confirm this????

AaronGTR
04-02-2008, 08:35 PM
:doh: ... sorry dude, that was my mistake. I was going by memory and I thought it was -6AN. It's been a long time since I used that port though, and -6AN is actually equivalent to 3/8" line and is the size I used for my tranny cooler. You are correct, the port is -4AN size. I had some extra -6AN and -4AN fittings in the garage and I just went down and tested them on the port. Good thing summit makes it easy to do returns and exchanges. Sorry about that again.

lightningGA
04-02-2008, 08:42 PM
:doh: ... sorry dude, that was my mistake. I was going by memory and I thought it was -6AN. It's been a long time since I used that port though, and -6AN is actually equivalent to 3/8" line and is the size I used for my tranny cooler. You are correct, the port is -4AN size. I had some extra -6AN and -4AN fittings in the garage and I just went down and tested them on the port. Good thing summit makes it easy to do returns and exchanges. Sorry about that again.

No problem Aaron.

alerored04
04-09-2008, 04:44 PM
I have a few questions on gauges that i cant find answers to. I am looking at The autometer fuel pressure but dont know the differences between analog and digital other than the obvious? I want gauges but dont really feel like spending $200 for a digital but summit says that an analog gauge should not be mounted in the cab due to dangerous fumes. I like the price point of an analog, is there a way to use one and have it be safe?

What is the difference between this http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D3311&N=700+400442+4294925227+115&autoview=sku (http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D3311&N=700+400442+4294925227+115&autoview=sku)

And this?
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D3361&N=700+400442+4294925227+115&autoview=sku

cardude007617
04-09-2008, 04:59 PM
ones mechanical and ones electric.

mechanical is you gotta actually run a fuel line to the gauge...and well that has gas in the cabin then, same with oil pressure gauges....

electric is there is a sending unit where the device is you are monitoring and it sends the data to the gauge so theres no possibly mess inside your car or tubing that has to be run.

cliff notes-electrical gauges are easier to install.....by far

alerored04
04-09-2008, 05:09 PM
Thanks for the info, but that sucks, i was hoping to get off cheap. I dont think i can justify $200 on one gauge, there are lots of better things that i can spend that money on.

cardude007617
04-09-2008, 05:10 PM
Thanks for the info, but that sucks, i was hoping to get off cheap. I dont think i can justify $200 on one gauge, there are lots of better things that i can spend that money on.

ya, i could say the old saying "gotta pay to play", but there are some things that are worth it and some things that just arent...... is there a reason u need a fuel pressure gauge? OR could u get by with a wideband instead

alerored04
04-09-2008, 06:37 PM
Just wanted one. Widebands are more than that arent they? I looked at a plx and it was like $250.

cardude007617
04-09-2008, 07:58 PM
but a wideband is multiple gauges in one

alerored04
04-09-2008, 11:27 PM
I thought it just measured a/f in an accurate manner.

AaronGTR
04-09-2008, 11:39 PM
I have a few questions on gauges that i cant find answers to. I am looking at The autometer fuel pressure but dont know the differences between analog and digital other than the obvious? I want gauges but dont really feel like spending $200 for a digital but summit says that an analog gauge should not be mounted in the cab due to dangerous fumes. I like the price point of an analog, is there a way to use one and have it be safe?

What is the difference between this http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D3311&N=700+400442+4294925227+115&autoview=sku

And this?
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=ATM%2D3361&N=700+400442+4294925227+115&autoview=sku



Actually, analog is any gauge with a needle that moves, and digital would be just a number readout. Analog comes in both mechanical and electrical. Mechanical, you have to run actual fluid lines to the gauge so they aren't good for interior gauges. They are usually mounted outside on a hood. Electrical has a pressure sender you mount in the engine bay and it sends a signal over a wire to the gauge. :thumbs:

cardude007617
04-09-2008, 11:41 PM
so was i correct pretty much or not really?

alerored04
04-09-2008, 11:43 PM
Thanks Aaron, thats what i meant.