Misfire Cyl 1 & SES Light [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Misfire Cyl 1 & SES Light

1989gtablown632
04-30-2008, 06:37 PM
Hello Everyone,

Im new to this fourm. Ive read alot of posts and done alot of searches on the problem im having and think I narrowed it down to either a lower intake gasket leak or a head gasket leak seems like these cars are known for it. I just figured Ill post because I couldnt find exactly the same symptoms and get your guys input. First when I got the car 2 weeks ago a, 99 gt 3.4L I had a problem with it running hot and blowing coolant out the overflow tank hose when the car got to about 210deg. The problem was someone had put a overflow cap for the 96-98 model year on mine 99 and it would never hold pressure and boil out (diffrent style tanks). So I got the correct cap and everything was good till yesterday in which the car started to run rough at idle when in gear and I got a flashing ses (bad misfire) then it turned steady. I started to smell either a rich condition or the clogged cat burning smell. I also noticed that every so offen, not when I rev it or drive and not all the time, but if im sitting idle I get a little white smoke/steam out of the tailpipes every couple of min then it stops and starts. I noticed a small amout of water in the lip of the exhaust tip. I checked the coolant level and it looked low considering I flushed it when I found the cap problem and it was full then. I plugged my scanner in and it told me that I had a misfire on cyl 1 so I reached down and moved the wire around on the cyl, fired it back up and it seemed to run a little better but not much. I then put new plugs & wires ac delcos and bosch wires. When I fired it back up again no codes It did still have a constant miss but it seams much less there. The car didnt loose any power. I drove it around the block pulled into the driveway and let it idle for a few min it which I saw a little white smoke/steam for a second and the ses lig