First Post, and my tale of woe [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : First Post, and my tale of woe

lburton
05-31-2008, 05:06 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here, glad to see a place this specific to the GT for owners to trade info.

Anyways, lemme give a little history on my car. I bought the car used (3.4L V6 2000 Grand AM GT 2 door) in December of 2005 from Scap Chrysler after an unfortunate incident on the highway with my 02 Grand AM SE which left that car destroyed. The GT had 13,000 miles on it (it sat in some guys garage as a weekend toy) and was pristine, for a while at least. About a year into ownership, she started to leak through the doors... badly.. I would go out after a rain storm and she'd have up to an inch of water in the rear passenger and occasionally the rear driver foot pans. I tried a variety of self fixes including armor all-ing the seals and eventually I taped the passenger door shut with gaffers tape during heavy rains. About 3 months ago I brought her in to G&J Pontiac (dealer associated with the Scap dealer I bought it from) to have the leaking diagnosed, I also needed a headlamp, fog lamp, and tail light replaced.

They replaced the door water deflectors and all 3 lights and upon my arrival to pick the car up, I noticed that the instrument cluster backlights were dead and that my AC no longer worked. I took it back the next day and they took the doors apart again to see if they created a short that was blowing the fuse, no dice. The tech opened up the Transaxle Shifter part of my center console, played around with some crap in there and lo and behold the INST LPS fuse stopped blowing. For about 20 minutes - after I had left again.

I burned through about 15 fuses just getting back and forth to work before I just stopped replacing the fuse and learned to drive at night without being able to see my gauges (this went on for a few weeks).