Anyone heard of this product?? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone heard of this product??

ApacheTaz
07-14-2008, 05:08 PM
So I took my GAGT into the shop today for overheating issues I have had recently. They tell me I have a blown Head Gasket.

I was doing some research and looking to see what my options are and I stumbled upon this product, anyone heard of it? Should I try it??

http://www.rxauto.com/

Reverend
07-14-2008, 06:07 PM
Thermagasket ha s been on the market for a while. I remember my dad selling it at his service shop. I personaly do not trust it as it clogged the water passages in a small block engine and destroyed it. When I tore the engine down the cooling passages were clogged with Thermagasket sludge.
I consider it about the same as fixing a radiator leak with a raw eggs. A temporary solution that can lead to more repair expense later. These are my personal experiences with this product and my opinion of same. I am not an expert on this subject so use it at your discretion.
Thank you.

ApacheTaz
07-14-2008, 06:42 PM
Thermagasket ha s been on the market for a while. I remember my dad selling it at his service shop. I personaly do not trust it as it clogged the water passages in a small block engine and destroyed it. When I tore the engine down the cooling passages were clogged with Thermagasket sludge.
I consider it about the same as fixing a radiator leak with a raw eggs. A temporary solution that can lead to more repair expense later. These are my personal experiences with this product and my opinion of same. I am not an expert on this subject so use it at your discretion.
Thank you.

Thank you for your input, thats what I would like to hear...feedback!

The Tech called me and told me that I would to make sure my coolant was flushed before I added the product. But he assured me that it would work and its a heck of alot cheaper than $1500.

tenspeed
07-14-2008, 07:53 PM