Down to the last couple wires on swap... need help [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Down to the last couple wires on swap... need help


kardain
07-16-2008, 01:05 AM
Ok, here goes... I have a 97 Sunfire w/ a 3400 from a 2001 Grand Am under the hood. After pouring through SI comparing schematics and whatnot, I have 2 last questions that maybe someone can answer.

1) The PCM/ECM pinout shows C1-55 as the Vehicle Speed Signal. I'm assuming this is the wire that goes to the speedo on the ICM? Also is that the one that is 4000 ppm output?

2) I have an aftermarket fan controller (SPAL) that has its own 2-wire sensor to trip the fans on and off rather than use the stock wiring. This will eliminate the need to recalibrate the controller if the battery is disconnected. Apparently somewhere on the firewall side of the block there is a coolant passage that can be used for this sensor. Anyone know where exactly this coolant passage is located? I don't want to pull the rear head to drill/tap...

kardain
07-18-2008, 02:09 AM
bump... anyone know at least the first question?

Blight
07-18-2008, 04:55 PM
Dunno at the moment. I have a half 3400 on my engine stand at home. Will check it out when I get home

Lab Rat
07-21-2008, 05:40 AM
I tried to answer you before but my IP was being gay. Anyway, I thought the VSS is the input from the tranny, not to the PCM.

Not too familier with your 3400 but I have read that people tee off the stock sender. I believe that's what you're looking for.

3400 in a Sunfire, nice. Got pics?

kardain
07-23-2008, 12:07 AM
http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/6435/kif9837sb0.jpg

Not the best pic, but this is the current state of the car (ECM is down behind the front bumper, so have to tear down the front end to work on it

The sender I have for the fan controller is this one:

http://www.spalusa.com/fans/automated/accessories/fanpwmts.html
FAN-PWM-TS / Low Setting: 160, High Setting: 200

Lab Rat
07-24-2008, 06:05 AM
Very good work there. Did you need a shoehorn to get that in? :D
Hopefully you can get your answer about the senser location.
Did you get the VSS figured out?

kardain
07-24-2008, 06:29 PM
Surprisingly, no. There's plenty of room. Now if I went with the DOHC, I'd run into trouble

(from last year)

http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/2191/kif9129xi8.jpg

http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/2464/kif9130sw9.jpg

And I did get an answer to both questions.. that wire will work and is 4k ppm output as well as using document ID 686347 in SI to view all coolant passages.