Bad trans mounts? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Bad trans mounts?

lone_wolf025
07-18-2008, 08:20 AM
So I recently had my car in and was told by the mechanic that I had two "crushed rear trans mounts". Well, after looking at the mounts myself and having consulted with my parts guy, all I have to say is HUH?

I crawled under the car and took a look at the mounts. I'm no expert but they didn't seem all that "crushed" to me. Take a look for yourself and lemme know what you think. First pic is the mount on the driver's side, second is the rear mount, third is the front mount. Only mount not included is the engine mount. 1st looks good to me, second and third have some slight distortion visible but is that bad enough to call it "crushed"?

Mechanic told me the GM part #'s were 22590932 (for "left rear") and 22624648. I can guess that one is the circular hard rubber mount (which I have a replacement of) and the other is the one with the bracket included?

Lab Rat
07-18-2008, 12:23 PM
We may need to find you a new mechanic. :D Hard to see much in the pics. But I don't see anything wrong. You do have to see the center as that's the thinness/weakest part. Maybe use a small mirror and flashlight to get a good view.

lone_wolf025
07-18-2008, 01:41 PM
We may need to find you a new mechanic. :D Hard to see much in the pics. But I don't see anything wrong. You do have to see the center as that's the thinness/weakest part. Maybe use a small mirror and flashlight to get a good view.

Didn't think of a mirror...I'll have to do that. But yea, normally this guy is really good and doesn't BS, but considering the fact that he completely glanced over the nicely leaking LIM twice, his track record with this car is not looking too hot...

lone_wolf025
07-20-2008, 06:42 PM
Dumb question, but how do I jack up the engine or trans without damaging the pans? Do I just stick a 2x4 under the oil pan and jack it up that way or what?

GrandAmC9
07-20-2008, 09:14 PM