For: Seth Cohen/ iceman [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : For: Seth Cohen/ iceman


Mike Jung
08-28-2008, 01:39 AM
Mike, recommend me some lighting gear.
My flashes not cutting it.
I am thinking about going with some quantum stuff, trying to keep it under $1500
I don't really know what is on the market for portable, battery operated strobes that are economical.

Off the top of my head...

I am thinking Quantum QFlashes, Quantum Turbo 2x2 battery packs, with a FreeXwire wireless TTL system.
http://www.qtm.com/QFlash/?res_set=yes&res=1280&resh=800

http://www.qtm.com/FreeXwire/?res_set=yes&res=1280&resh=800


http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/400103-REG/Quantum_Instruments__Qflash_T5D_with_Turbo.html (150w/s) each at $1242 US
or
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/152004-REG/Quantum_Instruments__Qflash_X5DR_400_Watt_Second.h tml (400w/s) each at $ 1,899.95 US
&
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/147626-REG/Quantum_Instruments_PB1_Battery_Module_High_Perfor mance.html Extra bigger battery each at $265 US


http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/398245-REG/Quantum_Instruments_FW89_FW89_FreeXwire_Wireless_T TL.htmla set (transmitter & receiver) at $370 US
&
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/224744-REG/Quantum_Instruments_FW53N_FreeXWire_Wireless_TTL_A dapter.html at $94.50 US

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/398247-REG/Quantum_Instruments_FW8R_FW8R_FreeXwire_Wireless_D igital.html Extra receiver units at $185 US


PS: Check with a salesperson before buying, to confirm what you all need to be complete working package.

Mike Jung
08-28-2008, 01:43 AM
& if you get real serious about strobe set-ups (using them manually):

Get a incident light meter that reads ambient light & strobes at the same time.
& that can analyze the difference between the two at the same time.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/221078-REG/Sekonic_401358_L_358_Flash_Master_Meter.html at $259 US


PS: I haven't used my Minolta Flash Meter V in the longest time.
Too bad Minolta is out of the light meter business :(

iceman
08-28-2008, 01:52 AM
That's the stuff I've been checking out ..


I don't really need/want the wireless TTL though. For Quantums wireless TTL stuff, you have to have one of the qflashes in the hotshoe, correct??

Mike Jung
08-28-2008, 02:08 AM
That's the stuff I've been checking out ..


I don't really need/want the wireless TTL though. For Quantums wireless TTL stuff, you have to have one of the qflashes in the hotshoe, correct??
No, that is what the Quantum FreeXwire transmitter with the wireless TTL adaptor is for.

Keep in mind that I am not a salesperson or used the stuff before.
So double check my info.