Hardwire a Radar Detector [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Hardwire a Radar Detector


duramax1031
09-22-2008, 09:51 PM
I read in the mods that you can hardwire your radar detector in your vechile.I have a 01 duramax and i want to do this.I have a Cobra style radar detector and i always have to plug it in.The cord is circle for it.Is there 2 wires in it or just one.How do i do it with just one wire?Any help would be awesome.Thanks!

Nick-G
09-23-2008, 12:09 PM
Their should be two wires running from it just run the ground to a grounded part of your car and then for power you can clip the power wire for your cigerette lighter and wire it to that.

cardude007617
09-23-2008, 12:13 PM
nope better yet, go to cobra's site and email them saying that the coiled cord isnt working for you and they will send you a hardwire kit FREE of charge. once you get that, you just wire it up to the fuze box, an inline fuse is even included

Ajaxus
09-23-2008, 12:19 PM
http://www.grandamgt.com/radar.html

On the main page of the website.

KhellendrosxS
09-23-2008, 05:07 PM
http://www.grandamgt.com/radar.html

On the main page of the website.


I believe thats what he referred to in his OP...

duramax1031
09-23-2008, 11:33 PM
Cardude-will they just ship me one without any proof of purcahse or anything?give me just alittle more information before i send them a email...Like say it doesnt work or what?mine didnt come with a coiled wire, its just a simple round cord

cardude007617
09-23-2008, 11:49 PM
no its just that simple. say the round cord is annoying or in your way or doesnt reach or just some BS. ask them if they can send you a hard wire cord. you dont need a proof of purchase or anything.

duramax1031
09-24-2008, 09:20 AM
that sounds god just send them a email...or call them?

cardude007617
09-24-2008, 09:40 AM
send em an email, they should get back to you within the day

duramax1031
09-24-2008, 09:47 AM
i just called them cuz email wasnt working...i told them whats going on and they wouldnt give me a free one....so 13 bucks later i will have a hardwire kit

Jake
09-24-2008, 09:48 AM
i just called them cuz email wasnt working...i told them whats going on and they wouldnt give me a free one....so 13 bucks later i will have a hardwire kit

Paul owes you 13 bucks imo lol

cardude007617
09-24-2008, 09:50 AM
i just called them cuz email wasnt working...i told them whats going on and they wouldnt give me a free one....so 13 bucks later i will have a hardwire kit

whoa no. email them.

Ajaxus
09-24-2008, 09:56 AM
the less personal it is, the easier it is.

cardude007617
09-24-2008, 10:00 AM
i emailed them a while ago and it wasnt a big deal. just tell them what you want...

duramax1031
09-24-2008, 10:28 AM
u wanna email them for me and tell them to ship one to u(me) for free?ill call them and cancel my order if u want to email them for me...my email isnt working...Model # XRS-9300

Ajaxus
09-24-2008, 10:47 AM
you sure you want that public?

duramax1031
09-24-2008, 10:50 AM
no..hehe

duramax1031
09-24-2008, 01:46 PM
anybody wanna email them?

duramax1031
09-25-2008, 11:39 AM
hey nevermind now..remember when i called yesterday and bought it...then i called back and cancelled it but they said they didnt now until after lunch and they never called...well it came today and i just got done hooking it up!works good!not even a day to get it to me!woohoo!

cardude007617
09-25-2008, 12:05 PM
so u got it free of charge then?

duramax1031
09-25-2008, 03:39 PM
nope 13.73 for it!can anybody help me with those black retainers in the back of the headlight ...i cant get it to stay tight or get the bulb to even stay straight...i broke them before when i switched the bulb and im just getting to fix them...the bulb doesnt even stay straight in the socket...i got 2 pieces at NAPA a big ring and a little ring with the taps...Any quick advise?driving, the bulbs go every direction like high beams go straight up and vise versa...not trying to hijack my own thread