Tapping into power source. [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Tapping into power source.

iApex
12-23-2008, 10:45 PM
Well i searched with the following phrases...
Interior lighting
tapping into power source
Neons
LED's
Holders

Sorry if i accidentally looked over it.

And couldn't find what I needed.
Basically I am a complete noob when it comes to electrical stuff.

I need to know how to tap into the cigarette lighter so i can power LED's for my cup holders and neon floor lighting. Basically just the LED's in the cup holders for now. I plan on buying the lights from oznium and the switches but idk what all i exactly need or how to wire them into the power source so i can just turn them on with the switches.

I know im going to use these
http://www.oznium.com/prewired-superflux
and these
http://www.oznium.com/switches

I have all the ideas planned out for mounting

Can someone help me out please?

Jake
12-23-2008, 11:05 PM
Use an add-a-fuse, can be bought at any autozone, kragens, etc etc. I ran mine off the 20A radio fuse in the fuse panel on the driveside. Easiest in my opinion. And for the ground I used the screw at the top left of the fuse panel. To wire Led's and such it is very easy. Hook the switch to a ground, and a power source. ANd the Led's will have 2 wires, (1 positive and 1 negative obviously), hook the ground from the led to your ground on the switch, and hook the power one to the "acc" little tab on the switch, that will make it to where the led's will come on only when the switch is flipped.

iApex
12-23-2008, 11:22 PM