Problem with Tuned PCM please help!! [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Tuned PCM please help!!


Silver00GT
12-31-2008, 12:47 AM
Ok, I got my new tuned PCM from MP racing and I installed it the correct way. So when I went to start the car I would turn over but thats it. I never stalled like the instructions said. I let it sit for 10 minutes with the key in the ON part of the ignition so it could learn the security code and when I went to start it again the same thing happened. I would just crank over and never could start.

Anyone have the same problem? I have no idea why it would do this.

McFlurrey06
12-31-2008, 12:50 AM
Might have to wait more then 10 mins, utill the security light tyrns off. I took mine a few tries and is perfect now.

Silver00GT
12-31-2008, 12:54 AM
I'll try that, but the security light was off when I tried to start it though.

lvemy3100
12-31-2008, 04:29 AM
pm sent

Mike Jung
12-31-2008, 04:39 AM
Has to be 11-minutes or longer...
http://www.pfyc.com/pc/GA3010/GAUNDE...+Am+SE-GT.html

Attempt to start the car by turning the key to the Start/Run Position.
Observe that the vehicle fails to start and that the security light is illuminated.
Release key to the 'ON/Accessory' Position. (DO NOT turn key to the 'off' position.)
Allow the vehicle to sit with the key in the 'ON/Accessory' Position for no less than 11 minutes.
Turn key to off position and allow the vehicle to remain in the 'OFF' position for no less than 30 seconds.
Repeat #1 - #5 for 3 cycles.
On 4th attempt, car should start.
NOTE : Since this is a fairly long procedure, I would limit all electrical sources, such as disconnecting headlights, to prevent discharge of battery.

NOTE 2 : It is SAFE to wait LONGER than the allotted time, but it is not safe to wait less time. I.e. 12 minutes instead of 11 minutes should be safe; however, waiting 10 minutes instead of 11 minutes is not safe.

Properly executed, this procedure should take approximately 35 minutes to complete.


here ya go

PhantomLover007
12-31-2008, 08:13 AM
The details will get you. When I installed mine for the first time, I waited 15 minutes to be on the safe side. It didn't crank on the 1st attempt, so I did it again and then got the go on the 2nd time.

Silver00GT
01-01-2009, 05:45 PM
Ok i got it in and everything started up fine. Now though I have a P0650 code that came up. Anyone know what this could mean?

AleroB888
01-01-2009, 06:23 PM
Ok i got it in and everything started up fine. Now though I have a P0650 code that came up. Anyone know what this could mean?

" P0650 -- Malfunction indicator lamp (MIL)"

PhantomLover007
01-01-2009, 06:26 PM
Get a code reader from AutoZone and clear it or get them to do it for you. IIRC, they can.

Silver00GT
01-01-2009, 06:35 PM
I did some searching and found it means (Malfunction Indicator Lamp (MIL) Control Circuit Malfunction)

Does that mean it is like a fuse or dash light that is out? The lights on all the dash seem fine and the car seems to be running fine too. Anyone else have this problem?

lvemy3100
01-02-2009, 04:10 AM
the following is a link to a PDF of the gm service bulletin in regards to the p0650 code

www.mpracing.org/Docs/DTC P0650 Malfunction Indicator Lamp (MIL) Control Circuit

Silver00GT
01-02-2009, 02:09 PM
Thanks mark. I did a little searching on the internet and found this too. I'll recheck the PCM connections again and all my fuses to see if I find anything. If that doesn't work I'll just clear the code and see if it comes back up.