2.2 ecotec Manual Swap [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : 2.2 ecotec Manual Swap


Deltabravo03
02-03-2009, 09:28 AM
I have a 2002 grand am SE Auto. I want to swap it with a manaul tranny. What do i need to make it work? Can i use a sunfire f23 5 speed tranny and put it in the grand am? what things would i need to buy to make it work?

PhantomLover007
02-03-2009, 10:08 AM
Talk to Timka86. He put a 6 speed in his GT.

Lab Rat
02-03-2009, 11:19 AM
He's got an ecotec. If it was me I would find a donor in the J/Y and scavage all the 5 speed parts. Lots of bolt turning but it's all GM bolt on. Took me three weeks, lots of swearing, and about 2500 for the LD9 swap. I have never worked on an eco thou. Good luck.

2003SCT
02-03-2009, 01:17 PM
It should be pretty straightforward because the F23 was an option on the GA with the Ecotec. The 6 speed never came in the GA so it was a bit unorthodox but this should swap right in....I think that you even keep your center console but I don't know that for a fact and a junkyard would be the best place to start. You should be able to source the unit out of lots of cars like Cavaliers etc.

Check www.car-part.com



CHRIS

Deltabravo03
02-03-2009, 01:23 PM
yeah but my main question is this. Can i take a cavalier or sunfire tranny and clutch pedal assembly and put it in the grand am? but now the problem is the driveaxles. can i use the same one or i need new ones or what?

2003SCT
02-03-2009, 01:53 PM
Well, I would go online and look for the GM part number for what is on your car now and then search to see if you select that its a manual if the part number changes. You can try gmpartsdirect or go to a dealer to be sure...see if they cross reference. The nice thing about it being a "factory swap" is that GM uses the same mechanical parts as often as possible to minimize engineering costs..that is what saves you ALOT of money over doing something out of the ordinary.

I am almost positive that the transmission at least is the exact same one whether you have an Alero, GA, Cavy, Sunfire, etc.

Here is a doc. on the tranny just for giggles:

http://media.gm.com/us/powertrain/en/product_services/2008/Whats%20New/Transmissions/2008%20Manual%20Transmission/08_Getrag_F23_M86_MG3.doc





CHRIS

Deltabravo03
02-03-2009, 02:02 PM
cant seem to find any parts on gmpartsdirect. I was looking for the clutch pedal assembly cant seem to find it any where

tenspeed
02-03-2009, 02:30 PM
There's a guy on GAOC that did the swap. He bought a donor Grand Am. He took a couple rides in my ecotec/manual at Albany to sort out little problems such as the cruise control. He goes by the name of "Lowrider###" (I don't remember the number). He also converted his SE to a GT too. He has the only burgundy GT with a four cylinder and a five speed.

I don't think you will ever find some of the parts you need unless you order them from a dealer. I've never heard of someone needing to replace their clutch pedal assembly so they don't keep parts like that in stock.

Deltabravo03
02-03-2009, 02:34 PM
question can i just go to a junkyard and get the pedal assembly off a sunfire or a cav?

tenspeed
02-03-2009, 02:45 PM
question can i just go to a junkyard and get the pedal assembly off a sunfire or a cav?

You could try.... nobody has done it before so nobody can answer the question.

Lab Rat
02-04-2009, 06:32 AM
I will try again. It would be best to find a donor in the J/Y. You are asking questions that very few people will know. I do NOT think the axles will swap. Not sure about the pedals. The tranny from a Cavy will work if the engine is the same. Pretty sure the PCM is different. Cavy console will be different. Shift cables will most likely be different. And what are you gonna do about the mounts and subframe? If you keep your auto subframe you will need to cut and weld. The cavy subframe will NOT work. There's more that I am forgetting but I hope you get the idea. I don't want to discourage you but it will take time and money, and some research. good luck.

Deltabravo03
02-04-2009, 08:41 AM
yeah but here the deal the grand am 2.2 l 2002 did come with a manual tranny as an option! i already found the sfiter from a other grand am, and i already found the tranny from a other grand am that was manual before. all i would be missing is the cluctch pedal assembly and also the mounts if they are the same or i need new ones.

Lab Rat
02-04-2009, 09:59 AM
I give up.

2003SCT
02-04-2009, 10:38 AM
I don't think the thought to use the console or the subframe or the PCM out of a Cavy ever came into anyones mind...mainly just the tranny...that is the pricey part to get. Its the minimal amount of stuff in the GRAND AM that needs to be changed between manual and auto models...much like the 4 cyl and 6 cyl models. It would be good to find a place/junkyard with a manual N-Body though..be it Alero or GA. As an FYI, B&M makes a nice short shifter, Fidanzda and SPEC both make flywheels and Centerforce and SPEC make clutches for the Ecotec/5 speed combination. Throw in some Redline fluid and you will have a pretty sweet box.

CHRIS

Deltabravo03
02-04-2009, 07:41 PM
"""""I don't think the thought to use the console or the subframe or the PCM out of a Cavy ever came into anyones mind..."""" ---- Well i think Lab Rat Thought that. lol At a local jy they were chargeing me 450 for the tranny out of a grand am 2002! I was wondering is it cause its really crappy or its a normal price for it? has about 100 000 km on the tranny. Also dos anyone know what other parts i would need? Do i need to change the driveshaft too? and what about the mounts will it be the same or i need new ones? Thank you to all for your help already!

ganut
02-20-2009, 10:05 PM
so swapping in a 5-speed requires welding in the mounts unless you use a subframe from a manual trans GA?

Deltabravo03
02-21-2009, 03:27 PM
yeah

Rich
02-21-2009, 05:52 PM
if i could turn back time. if i could find a way, id buy a GA with a manual.

ganut
02-21-2009, 07:20 PM
well the subframe can be had for a couple hundred bucks it looks like

PhantomLover007
02-21-2009, 07:26 PM
if i could turn back time. if i could find a way, id buy a GA with a manual.

Alright Cher.... lol

Rich
02-21-2009, 07:30 PM
well the subframe can be had for a couple hundred bucks it looks like

junkyard?

ganut
02-21-2009, 07:57 PM
pretty much, but lookie here

http://www.automotix.net/usedautoparts/2001-pontiac-grand_am-suspension_cross_membersubframe-inventory.html

Rich
02-22-2009, 12:38 AM
the plot thickens. gonna do the mod?

ganut
02-22-2009, 09:30 AM
the plot thickens. gonna do the mod?

well i'm looking at these ones actually

http://www.automotix.net/usedautoparts/2002-pontiac-grand_am-suspension_cross_membersubframe-inventory.html

;) ;)

Rich
02-22-2009, 11:53 PM
be sure to chronicle the journey.

ganut
02-23-2009, 07:12 PM
i've been holding out for a while... this is complete with the 5 speed and shifter. got the radiator and fans too. Gotta get pedal assembly, wire harness, ecm and bcm. but there's only 500 miles on this engine and tranny.

PhantomLover007
02-23-2009, 07:15 PM
Ooooooo.

Deltabravo03
02-23-2009, 08:49 PM
sexy ecotec!!!! :P\

2003SCT
02-23-2009, 09:20 PM
Hell yeah it is....


CHRIS

Rich
02-23-2009, 11:40 PM
dude. get the M62 for the eco and sell me your m45!