Override ETS and add Push Button Start [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Override ETS and add Push Button Start

aeh5126
03-03-2009, 05:14 PM
I really hate the ETS on my '02 grand am gt. I never use it. Every time I start my car the first thing I do is turn it off. So I was thinking the other day that it would be cool to have a push button start and thought to myself that I would have to get a relay and a momentary switch. The bottom two prungs on the back of the ETS button is momentary. I tested it and current goes through the switch when you push it in and let it go the current stops going through it.

I'm no electrician but if you would splice into the red and yellow wires that go to the the ignition and wire them to a 30amp relay then splice into the bottom two wires on the back of the ETS to turn on the relay, will this act like a push button start and also override the ETS on start up by using the ets button as a push button start?

Of course I would have to put the key in, turn it to ON and push the ETS button but thats fine, thats what I was going for anyway.

Is this even possible?

RPO3
03-03-2009, 05:16 PM
Uh oh...who is gonna take care of this one

aeh5126
03-03-2009, 07:45 PM
Anybody have any idea?

notsoaveragej0e
03-03-2009, 07:55 PM
Push button start is a waste of time-- youll turn the key two clicks, then reach over and hit a button, when you could just turn the key one more click to start it. It might be cool and novel at first, but I imagine it'll get old pretty quickly.

I'm not sure about the ETS function, but it is in place for a reason, and that is to keep you safe. IMO just leave it be, and if it really bugs you that much it takes three seconds to shut it off manually.

GA2000GTSpeed
03-03-2009, 08:14 PM
theres already a thread about push button start... if you would of read that it would make u wish u never created this thread

aeh5126
03-03-2009, 08:17 PM