3400 Engine Removal [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : 3400 Engine Removal

76TA01GAGT
03-05-2009, 08:05 PM
I am new to the removal process of a front wheel drive and need some guidance. We have a 3400 with an automatic, which I understand will come out with the transaxle staying put. My questions is what is the best access/ sequence to remove the lower bellhousing bolts that go into to the block? I have the top two out and the middle ones I can see. The front one appears to be behind the engine motor mount? In my looking and thinking will I need to hook up the hoist then remove all the motor mounts to get to the last bolts on the bellhousing? Thanks in advance for any/ all help. Please guide me to another thread if this is covered elsewhere. Thanks!

PhantomLover007
03-06-2009, 09:04 AM
You have a Hayne's or Chilton's manual?

76TA01GAGT
03-06-2009, 09:35 AM
Yep, got the Haynes manual, not really descriptive about that particular part of the removal though..............

PhantomLover007
03-06-2009, 09:36 AM
Ahh. Yeah. They do get a bit sketchy sometimes...

76TA01GAGT
03-06-2009, 09:41 AM
If I dont see any replys, my plan is to hook it up and take the weight off and remove the motor mount and see if that allows access. I will post what we end up doing.....

Iceminze101
03-06-2009, 10:45 AM
The front one yes you will need to take that motor mount off to take the bolt out. The back one it's easier to get a bunch of extentions and get it from underneath the car. When you start lifting the motor you really need to make sure none of your wires are attached to the transmission and the frame. I messed up one of my ABS sensors that way.

76TA01GAGT
03-06-2009, 10:49 AM
Thanks for the heads up and information. I will do a double check on the wiring.

76TA01GAGT
03-08-2009, 06:02 AM
here's what we found;

1.) Dont miss the wiring like advised above, it is attached to the firewall side of the block - we got it per this good information.