Blazer Install Problems [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Blazer Install Problems


aiixon
04-24-2009, 10:00 PM
Okay, I installed my blazers but they don't work. I wired them according to the how-to in the mods section. The only part that confused me was tapping into the original power wire, but I think I did it right.
I spliced the white wire from the relay of the fogs into the the purple wire from the driver side light. Also, the light on my fog light switch doesn't work, would that affect anything. I tried soldering something in there but I failed and now it doesn't work. Would that affect the lights turning on??

aiixon
04-24-2009, 10:39 PM
Okay, got em working. The problem was that I had a resistor in the orange wire in the dimmer switch, and I moved it over to the purple and the fog lights worked and so did the led. Then I turned the car off and when I went to turn my car back on, the fog lights no longer worked, nor did any interior lights when I flipped on the lights. The headlights turned on, but none of my switches lit up, my cupholder leds, my instrument cluster, my stereo didnt dim, naddaaaaa.. This is freaking me out anyone have any ideas??

aiixon
04-25-2009, 08:33 PM
can somebody please help me??

aiixon
04-26-2009, 05:00 PM
.....

aiixon
04-26-2009, 11:03 PM
someone here has to have has something like this happen to them, no?

notsoaveragej0e
04-26-2009, 11:30 PM
Checked all your fuses, both inline and in the box? I just remember I popped a few fuses when I was first messing around with my strobe lights in the GA. I was swapping for straight stock lights though, not aftermarket.

aiixon
04-26-2009, 11:33 PM
I checked all the fuses that had anything to do with my lighting. I'll go and re-check every single fuse though just to make sure. But I don't get how a fuse could have blown anyways.

aiixon
04-27-2009, 07:12 PM
I checked all my fuses, and all my wiring is still good. I just don't get how my lights could stop working all the sudden I didn't even do anything. All the lights affected by the dimmer switch on the interior aren't working, and neither are the fogs.

aiixon
04-29-2009, 04:59 PM
.

aiixon
04-30-2009, 05:32 PM
somebody has to have input??

aiixon
05-02-2009, 12:27 AM
bump this is kind of important

aiixon
05-04-2009, 02:47 PM
thtrhtrhhtrshtrhh

2000 GT Coupe
05-04-2009, 04:20 PM
put it back to stock see if that helps.

heeroyue2002
05-05-2009, 01:15 AM
dimmer control module?

Panacea
05-05-2009, 01:12 PM
Loose wire, improperly connected wire? Who knows. Tripple check every single connection, and also put back to stock like someone said and see if that works.

aiixon
05-05-2009, 06:33 PM
i took out the resistor and it didn't do anything so i just put it back. and i'll go check again just incase! but i didnt mess with any wiring other than splicing a resistor in... it's so weird.

juanvan
05-05-2009, 08:07 PM
Take a Lead light and test for current in the wires.

If you have a resistor inline for LED you have to be careful - current will take the Path of Least resistance. So if it has another line to follow it will go that way instead of the way you want.

If you have current on one side of the resistor and not the other then its the resistor - go to a lower ohm

Edit:
How did you take the resistor out - you should be soldering them in - as this makes for the best contacts...

aiixon
05-05-2009, 10:01 PM
ya I had it soldered but then i just cut it off and wrapped the wires back together to test without the resistor but then resoldered it back in. Okay I'll check with a lead light though thanks for the idea.

aiixon
05-09-2009, 10:50 PM
weird randomly started working again.