New Owner to a 2003 [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : New Owner to a 2003

nolimit
07-12-2009, 03:58 PM
Afternoon all, i recently purchased a 03 GAGT with only 45,000 miles,(thats the reason i bought it low miles)

i was driving an 89 ford probe Gt with the 2.2 mazda motor,had it for 13 years, it curently has 247, thousand miles, and still runs like a champ, im a firm believer in Maintence maintence, im no ceritified mechanic but not afraid to tackle certian jobs,i've done quite a few things, cv axles,ball joints,timing chains,pumps ect,ect

im not sure if i posted this in the correct area,

i've come to learn as much as i can about these cars and what to look out for from the ones who have already has experienced issues with them,like every other car, im sure there notorious for certain things. so any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated,

lol, i do want to note, i know 1 thing and its the intake manifold gaskets

Jake
07-12-2009, 04:05 PM
Wheel bearings
As you stated, the lower intake manifold gaskets.
Weird tranny surges.
Window regulators (Neither have crapped out on my car yet, knock on wood)

Those seem to be the most common problems, also, welcome :)

[ChaosweaveR]
07-12-2009, 04:15 PM
Welcome to the focked up family. But there is one more issue, watch out for a glogged cat. Mine went @ 82K. I've seen many 02's, 03's and 04's have them go. But other than that, the LA1 is a great and reliable motor, and is a good platform for forced induction if you want to go that route.

nolimit
07-12-2009, 04:37 PM
Thank You, glad to be a part of the family,and hopefully as time goes on i'll be able to help and assist, again im not dumb founded on the mechanic side but no expert either lol,i BABY my cars and just trying to learn what i can from this breed, so if not a problem im going to have some questions until i gather a lil info under my belt