Help with nitrous spark plugs [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Help with nitrous spark plugs


GrandAmGTTT
07-13-2009, 08:52 AM
hey i'm going to be using some copper NGK sparkplugs with my nitrious. Should i gap them to .30? Or is there an ideal gap that already exists. I'm going to be running a 75 shot btw

AaronGTR
07-13-2009, 09:00 AM
There is no set ideal gap really. It all depends on your cylinder pressures and your spark power. Both those vary greatly depending on engine mods. Ideally you want to run the largest gap possible that the spark will jump without getting blown out and having a misfire. Having too small a gap gives the spark less exposure to the air/fuel mixture and makes ignition slower/more difficult. Most plugs come factory gapped at .055 or .045. I'd check them with a gap tool before installing and start with them there. If you can use them with the N2O and don't get any misfires then leave 'em be. :)

Tupperware SC2
07-13-2009, 10:53 AM
^ Agreed

also with nitrous it is a good idea to run 2 heat ranges colder... that will also help with the predetination.

GrandAmGTTT
07-13-2009, 11:46 AM
thanks guys

zukiracer19
07-13-2009, 12:04 PM
think ngk tr6s are pregapped at .35

AaronGTR
07-13-2009, 02:02 PM
Nope, my TR6's came gaped to .040". I believe I actually opened them up a bit to .045".

GrandAmGTTT
07-13-2009, 02:19 PM
lol so .030 is very small lol, i'm gonna want to be at .065 or .070

AaronGTR
07-13-2009, 04:27 PM
Well, stock plug gap is .060" and NGK's standard replacement plug (tr55) is gaped to .055", so I'd start in there somewhere.

zukiracer19
07-13-2009, 04:49 PM
my tr6s at advance are .35 pre gapped, I've checked mine also before I put them in

GrandAmGTTT
07-13-2009, 05:52 PM
well i gapped them a .065 and ran it a couple times on spray oh and that was after a little tuning work and things ran great with no problems.

AaronGTR
07-14-2009, 10:50 AM
my tr6s at advance are .35 pre gapped, I've checked mine also before I put them in

Dunno where you found them then, because ngk states they are gapped to .040". Or maybe you weren't measuring them right?

http://www.ngk.com/results_cross.asp?pid=4177&x=33&y=16

zukiracer19
07-14-2009, 11:14 AM
Used a feeler gage and the autozone coin looking thing. Todd also told me they come pregapped at .35... i mean I need to swap out my spark plugs soon i wouldn't mind taking pics or making a video lol. Not sure if they are same ones or not but my tr6's come pregapped at .35

AaronGTR
07-14-2009, 12:36 PM
lol, I dunno then but thats what I found. heh