Does 56mm TB measure less in design? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Does 56mm TB measure less in design?


realestdriver
07-29-2009, 07:03 PM
Hope the title doesn't confuse anyone, but I'll be to the point. I have a caliper vernier gauge and I happened to measure my tb from the outlet(gasket side) but it only measured about 52mm. Is this right, I had about three throttle bodies laying around and maybe I put on the wrong one when I putting my engine together. Maybe manufacturers determine size differently.

IF a 56mm tb does measure 52mm, then when I buy a tce 62mm tb would it be smaller too.....atleast by the way I'm gauging it?

Thanks anyone who can input on this.

lone_wolf025
07-29-2009, 07:18 PM
The 62 is 62 and the 65 is 65. Before I had mine installed we were wondering which TB it was that I had gotten as I couldn't remember. It was measured and came up as 65mm.

lvemy3100
07-29-2009, 07:40 PM
the 56mm tb will measure 56mm.. in other words yes you did put the wrong tb on

realestdriver
07-29-2009, 08:19 PM
yup :banghead now where is tht tb

well thanx guys

AaronGTR
07-30-2009, 02:30 PM
Yeah, I'd say you put the wrong one on. My old stock one measured 56mm at the outlet.

Vegeta
07-30-2009, 02:50 PM
3100s are 52mm.