Famous Intake Leak [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Famous Intake Leak

nolimit
09-25-2009, 08:40 PM
afternoon gentlemen, "TO ALL WHO'S DONE THIS THEMSELVES" After doing my daily cleaning and fluid checking on my 03 gt, i've notice what i think appears to be a little seapage of oil on the intake,As you open the hood its to the right side of the head thats closer to you,i've wiped it off,so im going to check periodically to see.Now with that being said,i recall reading somewhere that there is the new and improved gasket that's suppose to fix this issue.... well,what would be the best brand name and recomeneded place to get it,money is no issue when it comes to this

im no certified mechanic but i have done my fair share of backyard work on vehicles, so im not skeered to do it, i've read up on it, and no to watch for the pushrod sizes and so forth,any other things to check or particular to look for?? i dont have a book on this car yet,so, i will need the torque spec for the upper an lower intake bolts anyone have them handy or no a place i can get them .....THANKS !!

depending on how bad it leaks,i'll be doing this project with in the next month i believe

THEEMUTT
09-25-2009, 09:03 PM
Fel-Pro

The torque specification is a 2-step process; tighten the vertical lower intake manifold bolts (the four middle ones) to 7 Nm (62 lb in). Tighten the diagonal lower intake manifold bolts (two on each end) to 7 Nm (62 lb in). Tighten the vertical lower intake manifold bolts (the four middle ones) to 13 Nm (115 lb in). Tighten the diagonal lower intake manifold bolts (two on each end) to 25 Nm (18 lb ft).

Upper Intake Manifold
Tighten Bolt/stud 25 Nm (18 ft. lbs)

Rocker arm bolts = 14 Nm (124 inch lbs. + 30).

lone_wolf025
09-25-2009, 09:06 PM
Gentlemen? Here? You sure you're on the right forum?

nolimit
11-11-2009, 05:31 PM