TURBO GA vs. WS6 [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : TURBO GA vs. WS6


zukiracer19
01-14-2010, 06:05 PM
Ok friends boss from work has a TA WS6 that runs high 12s. We took his video, compared it to mine, Watched the frames, timed everything up... My camcorder and his , put them on a computer, along with his 1/4 mile run, according to what we found out, I should damn near be high 12s if not around the 13 flat area... but my question to you is does the math follow through, or is there a lot more parts to be played...

Ran the GA ONCE turboed, Car had a leaking 3 bolt flange crossover gasket before turbo... and my 1st gear was out and still trapped 103, he traps 110-115.

Mike Jung
01-14-2010, 06:30 PM
Ok friends boss from work has a TA WS6 that runs high 12s. We took his video, compared it to mine, Watched the frames, timed everything up... My camcorder and his , put them on a computer, along with his 1/4 mile run, according to what we found out, I should damn near be high 12s if not around the 13 flat area... but my question to you is does the math follow through, or is there a lot more parts to be played...

Ran the GA ONCE turboed, Car had a leaking 3 bolt flange crossover gasket before turbo... and my 1st gear was out and still trapped 103, he traps 110-115.
IMO, until you do it...it is all talk.

There is more to this equation than just math.

& how did you sync the video frames ?

I doubt that your Turbo'd GA would be high 12's or 13 flat, based on what you are saying.
But prove me wrong :)

eric99gt
01-14-2010, 07:11 PM
I thought you sold this thing?

zukiracer19
01-14-2010, 07:22 PM
IMO, until you do it...it is all talk.

There is more to this equation than just math.

& how did you sync the video frames ?

I doubt that your Turbo'd GA would be high 12's or 13 flat, based on what you are saying.
But prove me wrong :)

http://lancaster.craigslist.org/cto/1552961849.html

IanGT99
01-15-2010, 10:46 AM
You have to keep the driver's ability in the equation. Head to head, I've seen a WS6 go up against a turbo'd GA. WS6 smoked it by over a full second. Put $20k into a GA and it could beat a WS6. That, or you could just go get a WS6. lol

If you upgraded your tranny and a few other things, you might be able to run with him, but I just don't see it happening with the current status of the car.

350rs
01-15-2010, 01:34 PM
wait wait wait.. anything done to this ws6? or is it stock still? M6 or A4? LS1 or LT1. High 12's is capable with a fully stock LS1 4th gen and a good driver.

AleroB888
01-15-2010, 06:30 PM
Mine ran faster than this here red car:

http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/rr299/Gflash01/BG-Racetrack-1.jpg?t=1263605098

'course, mine's not a GrandAM :p

350rs
01-15-2010, 11:01 PM
haha no its not. sweet Camaro there. whats it packin under the hood? Some kinda major big block i would assume by the size of those slicks.. lol

AleroB888
01-16-2010, 12:52 AM
haha no its not. sweet Camaro there. whats it packin under the hood? Some kinda major big block i would assume by the size of those slicks.. lol

Oh, no no no, that's not my Camaro (I wish), but I did race that red car in my Alero. He runs 13.2 -13.3's. Or did a couple years ago.

meanse99
01-16-2010, 12:55 AM
wait wait wait.. anything done to this ws6? or is it stock still? M6 or A4? LS1 or LT1. High 12's is capable with a fully stock LS1 4th gen and a good driver.

way off a stock firehawk can run a 13 on a slick so maybe a 13.5 owned:

kse73
01-16-2010, 02:45 AM
way off a stock firehawk can run a 13 on a slick so maybe a 13.5 owned:

Magazine race much?

AleroB888
01-16-2010, 06:23 AM
Magazine race much?

Magazines always run slower

350rs
01-16-2010, 08:26 AM
way off a stock firehawk can run a 13 on a slick so maybe a 13.5 owned:

not off at all. seen on several accounds with a stock SS running mid or high twelves. But they do have a bit tighter suspension than the firehawk. and thats with a professional drivin them. yea thats from a mag too ( car and driver i think..) but its a fact. IDK if there is a difference in weight with all the extra bling that pontiac added to the f-body either.

DrFabulous
01-16-2010, 10:39 AM
Wait... did the threadstarter say he "linked up video" to try and guess how fast he ran? Probably about as accurate as trying to use a stopwatch lol

Want to know how fast it runs? Go to a track

350rs
01-16-2010, 10:43 AM
Wait... did the threadstarter say he "linked up video" to try and guess how fast he ran? Probably about as accurate as trying to use a stopwatch lol

Want to know how fast it runs? Go to a track

DING you win.. lol

when it comes down to it, thats the only way your going to know. i think there are programs on some professional dynos that allow a full 1/4 mile pull. If thats more accessible.