turbo 3400w [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : turbo 3400w


psy7
01-26-2010, 01:21 PM
someone told me to put a turbo on my 3400 and use copper head gaskets. personally i think copper gaskets wouldnt work. is this true or not, tell me what u think.

lastryghts
01-26-2010, 01:25 PM
I might be wrong, but I beleive some people had problems with the copper gaskets. Your best bet would be use a set of the MLS gaskets.
http://wot-tech.com/shop/all/3400-mls-head-gaskets/prod_247.html

psy7
01-26-2010, 01:28 PM
thanks

Nick-G
01-26-2010, 03:22 PM
Copper gaskets are not needed. And now that cometic makes MLS gaskets for us they would be a much better choice.

psy7
01-26-2010, 03:39 PM
thanks

AaronGTR
01-26-2010, 04:22 PM
Yeah, no copper gaskets. Over kill, you have to have the block and heads machined for o-rings, and they don't always seal up well. Cometic MLS gaskets are the way to go, but you don't even need those unless you plan on running more than 12-14psi of boost.

Also be aware if you plan to do a turbo that it will require custom manifolds and lots of other fabrication. Be prepared to do a lot of this yourself and learn how to tune your own car because there aren't many people around who know how to work on grand am's.

psy7
01-26-2010, 10:40 PM
thanks the fabrication and tuning stuff ill be able to learn quickly its mainly the question of money for some of stuff needed

zukiracer19
01-27-2010, 12:42 PM
www.mcmaster.com

You should be able to keep you build around 1,500-2,000.

psy7
01-27-2010, 01:08 PM
hopefully when i get my tax return ill be able to do it

XtremeGaGt00
01-27-2010, 04:23 PM
speaking from personal experience about the copper headgaskets.STAY AWAY..lol..and remember when you build your turbo setup..its suppost to be fun, and when you start getting annoyed and pissed quit til next time, cause then youll start hackin sh!t up..(personal experience as well) lol

psy7
01-27-2010, 04:44 PM
thanks for the advice