Need help learning about cars [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Need help learning about cars

FireEyes
04-02-2010, 08:52 AM
Hey, I am new with cars and would like to learn more. I live in the center of North Carolina. If you dont mind helping a girl learn than let me know. I am only 22 so I do not know that much. I want to learn how to do big mods though.

Thanks

2000 GT Coupe
04-02-2010, 08:55 AM
Good luck, and what are you trying to do?

FireEyes
04-02-2010, 09:23 AM
I would like to know more about the engine.

2000 GT Coupe
04-02-2010, 09:48 AM
Are you wanting more power and speed? or cosmetic nice looking things.

FireEyes
04-02-2010, 10:08 AM
power and speed.

PhantomLover007
04-02-2010, 10:21 AM
A CAI will open up the airflow intot he engine quite a bit because the "Ram Air" sysytem is constrictive at best and is a joke.

Porting the MAF, upper and lower intakes and a nice set of headers will help out too.

Turbo/SC will added the biggest gains.

FireEyes
04-02-2010, 10:25 AM
Only thing I know how to do is the CIA.I need help with the others.

PhantomLover007
04-02-2010, 10:33 AM
Check out MPRacing.com. The owner's a member on here. He sells ported UIM's and LIM's.

There might be some folks on here that are selling them too. Check out the F/S threads.

wrestleandrun
04-02-2010, 10:33 AM
well have you looked around at what websites offer like pfyc.com wot-tech.com milzymotorsports.com mpracing.com Why not check those out see what you like and if you have questions if you should get this or that or how to install we can help you with that.

psy7
04-02-2010, 10:35 AM
could always go to a automotive college as well if u want to learn more about cars as well

Mac0083
04-02-2010, 10:40 AM
i just did the CAI on my '99 gt. the instructions included weren't for a '99 though...
the (PCV?) tube is a little different on the '99. i broke a few vacuum lines trying to make them fit or stretch.