starting lag? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : starting lag?


burgett2103
05-28-2010, 10:55 AM
I have moved my battery into the trunk and I also put a 2nd battery in the trunk as well. I only ran 4ga all the way back for positive and ground. I believe this would create a starting lag, but would upgrading wiring to 1/0 would that make start up quicker and more smoother?

burgett2103
05-31-2010, 12:16 PM
when engine is hot it just doesn't want to start. cold start it works just fine, so could this be my starter going bad or should i have ran 1/0 wire to the trunk?

WidbyJ
05-31-2010, 12:29 PM
Bigger wire would be better in any case, you're near the limit for that size anyhow.

Starter problems when warm are either bad connections or bad starter. Probably time to replace it based on mileage/age...

AleroB888
05-31-2010, 01:19 PM
I have moved my battery into the trunk and I also put a 2nd battery in the trunk as well. I only ran 4ga all the way back for positive and ground. I believe this would create a starting lag, but would upgrading wiring to 1/0 would that make start up quicker and more smoother?

I have a Red Optima in the trunk, with only 4 gauge, but run directly to the starter, and only grounded to the body in the trunk, so I don't think it's the wire size causing the problem.

burgett2103
05-31-2010, 01:58 PM
i have 98000 on the car.

and do you go from battery to starter to alternator? or did you do that big 3 upgrade on yours?

AleroB888
05-31-2010, 02:59 PM
i have 98000 on the car.

and do you go from battery to starter to alternator? or did you do that big 3 upgrade on yours?

No upgrades, just battery to starter, from starter to fuse box, and from starter to alternator