still have cylinder 3 misfire [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : still have cylinder 3 misfire


burgett2103
07-15-2010, 12:13 PM
Ever since I did my LIM swap I've had cylinder 3 misfire. I had to put my stock plug wire back on cylinder 3 because a mouse chewed up my msd wire. I scanned my computer got cylinder 3 misfire so I swapped back to msd wire. Scanned again nothing, but dad said it doesn't show up right away so I finally scanned it again today and got misfire again. Haven't noticed any differences, it still seems to run flawlessly. I no longer have a rough idle or anything that I can notice, but what else could cause my cylinder 3 misfire? I'm clueless.

WidbyJ
07-15-2010, 04:48 PM
Spark plug is probably fouled from not-firing, I'd replace it (or maybe all of them, good time to check them all). Could be just flaky connections, you may need to use needle-nose plier to tighten the clips inside the cable boots. Less likely is piston ring or valve problems... Any coolant/oil loss issues?

burgett2103
07-15-2010, 09:48 PM
all plugs are brand spankin new, i replaced stock plugs finally at 99000 miles when i swapped my lower mani. put in ngk iridiums. but no i don't have any leaks at all.

juanvan
07-17-2010, 03:26 PM
check the compression in the cylinder see if that is whats causing the miss fire if you don't think its the plug or the plug wire.