Help. Can't seem to stop overheating. [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Help. Can't seem to stop overheating.

Midnight GA
07-17-2010, 11:55 AM
Hi everyone. I'm having a hell of a time with a car that wont stop overheating. I'm not a mechanic, just a parts changer, so I'm hoping someone more knowledgeable than me might be able to shed some light on things for me. Let me start from the beggining. It's a 99 Grand AM GT, 130k miles, and a few months ago the LIM gasket started leaking. No coolant in oil or anything. Just some leakage from under the manifold between the heads. He put in a bottle of stop leak and that took care of things for a while. Then a few months later, it started to overheat. Almost no heat at all and the needle would start climbing and the coolant would spray right out the overflow tank hose. The water pump was leaking so I changed that but no help. I changed the cap but that didn't help. I flushed the system as best as I could and burped it but still no help. I even tried running without the t-stat, in case that was getting stuck but it didn't help at all. It just didn't seem to wanna circulate coolant and would just overheating. He put in a bottle of Blue Devil stop leak and that fixed the problem for about 2 days. So, i concluded must be pressure getting in the from one of the cylinders. I took the motor apart, put on another set of heads that i had pressure tested and resurfaced, put it all back together with a new t-stat, and low and behold, the heat worked great and the temp was sitting right around the 200 mark, but, as soon as the needle starts hitting the 200 mark, the coolant starts shooting out of the hose of the recovery tank. I hooked up a garden hose directly to the hose that feeds the radiator from the fill tank, open the radiator drain, and flushed it as best as I could. I've bled the system over and over, tried yet another cap, but still no help. Any ideas what could be causing this? Any ideas would be great