AutoZone has the wrong CV Axle listed for the Alero? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : AutoZone has the wrong CV Axle listed for the Alero?


Robb235
08-14-2010, 08:56 PM
Hey guys. I'm working on a wrecked '01 Alero to make it my daily driver. I also work at AutoZone part time which is great because I get a discount on all the parts I buy for this car.

Anyways, I looked up and purchased a CV axle for the driver side. Long story short, I get everything put back together and go for a test drive. I'm half way around the block (in a residential neighborhood) when the axle breaks leaving the car stranded in the middle of the road. $75 later, the Alero is towed back to the house and I find that the CV axle has seperated where the inner boot meets the tripod that goes into the transmission. It appears to me that the CV axle I bought was too short!

So I go back home and look up the part number for the CV axle for the '01 Alero with the 3400, part # is 9465N, which is the same part number of my box, so I didn't accidently grab the wrong box off the shelf. Then I look up the part number for a 2001 Grand Am with the 3400: different part number! Part # for that is 9459! So this tells me that AutoZone has a faulty listing for the CV axle on the Alero.

This isn't the first time either that I've seen Z-Net (the program used by AutoZone to look up parts) return some junk part numbers. Call up AutoZone and ask for an output shaft transmission seal for an '01 Alero with a 3400. Their computer is gonna ask whether you have the 4T65-E transmission, or the 4T80-E transmission; neither of which is offered in the Alero.

Has anyone else ran against faulty part numbers at AutoZone when looking for Alero parts?

AleroB888
08-14-2010, 10:06 PM
...............
Has anyone else ran against faulty part numbers at AutoZone when looking for Alero parts?

I got a belt tensioner that had a different pulley size than the original.

remiljr
08-14-2010, 11:16 PM
number of times autozone has givin me wrong parts, tie rods, pads, rotors, etc. pia!

Grandamgtblk99
08-15-2010, 12:41 AM
Take the axle off and go get your core back and put them next to each other to verify they are different.

Robb235
08-15-2010, 07:08 AM
number of times autozone has givin me wrong parts, tie rods, pads, rotors, etc. pia!

Most of the time that's due to either looking up the wrong application on the computer (I can't tell you how many times a customer has told me they have a 350, when in fact they have a 305), or the employee grabs the wrong part off the shelf. In this case, it appears that AutoZone actually has the wrong listing in the computer for this particular application.

Take the axle off and go get your core back and put them next to each other to verify they are different.

That's exactly what I'm going to do.

AaronGTR
08-15-2010, 01:06 PM
Don't have an autozone close to my house, but I have run into similar problems with other retailers too. Since the Alero and the GA use the same parts for the drivetrain it's probably a good idea to cross reference them and make sure the system is giving you the same part number. I usually will take my old part with me as well and ask to open the package and compare them when I purchase replacement parts.

wrestleandrun
08-15-2010, 10:29 PM
Glad I never go to AutoZone.

RPO3
08-16-2010, 06:51 AM
I just had my CV repaired, just went to a specialist on CV Axles