what goes wrong [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : what goes wrong

reborngarcia
09-15-2010, 08:05 AM
I have been working in new car dealerships for a few years now and every car has something that goes bad on it. But there are a few things that go wrong with all on them. Like I have seen that gm have had a bad time with the window regulators on the n body's. I would like to know what everyone thinks is something else that goes wrong on the rest on the car. ie blower motors, radios, dash lights, so on and so on.

DrFabulous
09-15-2010, 10:49 AM
Front rotors warping
LIM on 3400s
Water pump on 2.4s
Passlock interfering with starts
Blower motor resistor
Power window regulators/clips
Transmission is :meh:

reborngarcia
09-15-2010, 10:56 AM
i knew the window thing i am going to replace them all on mine slowly. already had to do the pass. front.

SuburbGT
09-17-2010, 12:02 AM
the reflectors in the door panels lol
mirror adjusting thing
broken camshafts
headlight adjusters :/

PhantomLover007
09-17-2010, 08:47 AM
the reflectors in the door panels lol
mirror adjusting thing
broken camshafts
headlight adjusters :/

Amen!! You can't even take off the door panels w/o breaking them. ;crap

notsoaveragej0e
09-17-2010, 09:00 AM
Are you talking in general, or specific to the Grand Am?

In general, it's near impossible for manufacturers to guarantee 100% of the parts in their cars. Why? Mainly because they do not MAKE every part on their cars; many systems are outsources to smaller manufacturers, such as Delphi, AC Delco, American Axle, etc. While GM (for this example) may have very tight tolerances on certain things, the companies they outsource to may not... unfortunately, those same companies may be the best (and many times, only) game in town, so GM wouldn't be left with too many options.