Fuel mileage and rough idle [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Fuel mileage and rough idle

Chrifister
12-02-2010, 08:42 AM
Where to start........ I'm not a mechanic but can do simple repairs. I have access to a lift in a garage sometimes. Bought the car two years ago with 188,000km. I think the rear struts and LIM gasket were replaced. Since then, I've changed the ignition switch, both front calipers, idle air controller, air filter, blower motor resistor, thermostat, and not sure how many front rotors. Also had to replace every bracket for the rear bumper after a snow plow tore it off. I still have to change both front struts (driver side strut stuck) and possibly the rear (one squeaks over bumps), both headlights (cloudy), plugs and wires, fuel filter, all brake rotors and pads, rims (got two bent alloys, getting steel for winter, lots of roadwork and potholes here), wheel hub, something else.........

When I first got her, she was quieter than a kitten but had lots of power. You couldn't tell she was idling if you were standing beside her. You couldn't feel she was running if you put your hand on the hood. Now I notice she's gotten louder. The pulleys seem like they're squeakier, like dry on grease or something. You can hear the sound of a chain moving like the chain on an old bicycle. There's a very faint ticking noise even after she's warmed up. You can only hear it with the hood open. I've also noticed that the car seems to be slowly losing power.