Noob question [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Noob question

Armydoc87
01-26-2011, 10:42 PM
So I have a 00 GASE that I bought in Canada. I have since moved back home to the states and am now wanting to sell my GA, but most people wont look any farther than my gauges when they realize the car is metric. I was wondering if there was a way for me to change the gauge cluster back to standard and have the odometer convert with it? The car has 126,850 kilometers(78,824 miles). Would I have to do something with the PCM or what? Sorry for the dumb question, but as the title says, I am a bit of a noob.

Ceej
01-26-2011, 11:37 PM
People seriously won't buy it simply because its in kilometers?? lmao Americans <3

Sounds kinda sketchy but it may be possible...

Armydoc87
01-26-2011, 11:45 PM
Yeah, I guess it scares them... And I had a guy look at it and tell me I was lying to him about the mileage b/c he swore up and down that my odometer would still show miles, not kilometers... :S

Ceej
01-26-2011, 11:52 PM
That is really funny sorry to hear that you got morons trying to buy your car lol

Armydoc87
01-26-2011, 11:58 PM
lol, Only in America...... But hopefully one of these guys can tell me if what I want to do is possible or not and if so, what I need to do to change it and how much its gonna cost me...

Ceej
01-27-2011, 08:55 AM
I would say since it's electronic it would most likely be something you could change in the computer since I'm sure it has both miles and kilometers recorded

Ceej
01-27-2011, 09:01 AM
Doh! Try pressing and holding the trip button for 3 seconds

[ChaosweaveR]
01-27-2011, 09:28 AM
I love how people won't buy a car just because the speedo and odometer are in KM's. lol

My 89 Tercel was from Canadidididididididuh, the speedo just made me feel faster than that POS really was. lol

AaronGTR
01-27-2011, 05:29 PM