Best option for PCM tune [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Best option for PCM tune


icecats87
05-08-2011, 08:13 PM
I have a tuned PCM from mpracing currently and i have a different transmission in now which is a 3.15 gear ratio, get a code from a scan tool of incorrect scan tool and i just want top program the pcm for the new gear ratio whats my best bet to have it tuned.

stewartfn18
05-08-2011, 11:43 PM
the 4t40 and 4t45 never came with a 3.15 fdr. it was either 3.05 or 3.29. and yes you have to have it tuned to the correct ratio by pulses per mile i think. not too sure though. i never messed with it in dhp

icecats87
05-09-2011, 12:59 AM
the 4t40 and 4t45 never came with a 3.15 fdr. it was either 3.05 or 3.29. and yes you have to have it tuned to the correct ratio by pulses per mile i think. not too sure though. i never messed with it in dhp

It was a 4T45e from an alero or SE and has a 3.15 ratio

AleroB888
05-09-2011, 02:22 AM
It was a 4T45e from an alero or SE and has a 3.15 ratio

http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/rr299/Gflash01/Trans-scrnst.jpg?t=1304925621

icecats87
05-09-2011, 10:57 AM
so its a 3.05? When i got it i was told it was a 3.15

AleroB888
05-09-2011, 11:25 AM
so its a 3.05? When i got it i was told it was a 3.15

No, I told you I thought it was a 3.05, since as far as I knew, it came from the Alero that aleroboy (John in Colorado Springs) had before he pulled it to do a 5-speed swap. It was stock and in pretty good, usable shape, according to John. I remember you saying you thought it was a 3.15 when you picked it up in Denver, so someone else must have told you that.

icecats87
05-09-2011, 12:20 PM
No, I told you I thought it was a 3.05, since as far as I knew, it came from the Alero that aleroboy (John in Colorado Springs) had before he pulled it to do a 5-speed swap. It was stock and in pretty good, usable shape, according to John. I remember you saying you thought it was a 3.15 when you picked it up in Denver, so someone else must have told you that.

Yeah i must of understood someone, so does anyone know best option to get the pcm tuned for the 3.05 ratio?

stewartfn18
05-09-2011, 01:08 PM
well since you obviously think you know more than i do, im not going to offer any more help. have fun trying to get your car to work properly with a 3.05 fdr and a 3.29 bin file

AaronGTR
05-09-2011, 04:14 PM
I also told him it was a 3.05... and I told him not to put it in or to change the diff first, but he didn't want to listen then either. :rolleyes:

icecats87
05-09-2011, 10:37 PM
I also told him it was a 3.05... and I told him not to put it in or to change the diff first, but he didn't want to listen then either. :rolleyes:

I just looked through some post and i didnt see you say it was a 3.05 i dont know maybe i completely missed something i dont know where i herd it was a 3.15 i dont know, and i did not have time to swap out the diffs since i only had a certain amount of time to take old one off and drop new one in, and since it was in class and its the first tranny job it did take a good amount of time. i couldn't afford to get a shop to do it, or to buy a used tranny and i got this one for free and the car works pretty good i just want to get it reprogrammed since i did get a incorrect gear ratio code

AaronGTR
05-09-2011, 11:37 PM
Well, I told you it was gonna have issues. Also you PM'd me and I told you what ratio it was. It would have only taken a day to take it apart and swap them out. If you want it reprogrammed correctly you are going to have to find someone with a tuner, or get a dealership to reflash it with a stock program for an SE and lose your custom tune from Mark. Either way it proves my point... when you cheap out and take short cuts you have problems. Maybe next time you'll listen to me.

icecats87
05-09-2011, 11:54 PM
Well, I told you it was gonna have issues. Also you PM'd me and I told you what ratio it was. It would have only taken a day to take it apart and swap them out. If you want it reprogrammed correctly you are going to have to find someone with a tuner, or get a dealership to reflash it with a stock program for an SE and lose your custom tune from Mark. Either way it proves my point... when you cheap out and take short cuts you have problems. Maybe next time you'll listen to me.

Thing was i didnt have a full day in the schools shop as there were other classes needing the bays or the instructors were gone, and well i got quoted a shop 3 grand to do it, i had no money for that. Im in college and i needed my car asap since i would drive home from school every weekend to work which is why i used the free one i got

skifreak122
05-10-2011, 07:49 AM
bla..I found the threads but can't get the links to work