Brain Teaser For the Gurus [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Brain Teaser For the Gurus

BradLav
07-11-2011, 05:34 AM
I have been surfing on here for a few months and never posted, but here we go on a sour note.

I was getting on the Expressway, normal 80% throttle, 30-80mph acceleration, And the SES Light came on and started blinking, went to autozone, scanned it, got a lean code and a multiple misfire code. So I get a new fuel filter (didn't help at all).

Get home, barely, wants to stall out in gear, shakes so bad i think the dash is going to fall off.

Hooked it up to my buddies Tech 2, misfires in cyl. 1 & 6, arent firing at all, okay coils and ignition modual im thinking no big deal, but iff you listen it now has a tick as well. heres a video for you guys.

http://youtu.be/isG9sr263EU

Input Please, pretty sure my engine is messed up, bad, Going to a shop tomorrow, just would like to know what to expect here, Thanks, Brad

mfuller
07-11-2011, 06:45 AM
Check your fuel pressure at the fuel rail test port. That will rule out a dying fuel pump.
If that's OK, check for clogged or non-firing fuel injectors.
Maybe bent pushrods or broken valvesprings/retainers - which is serious and may have caused a chipped piston/smashed valves. You pull the spark plugs on #1 and #6 yet?
Lotsa nasty valvetrain noise in that video.

Mattyj724
07-11-2011, 07:38 AM
misfire in only 1 and 6 sounds like spark plugs, coil pack, or injecters. maybe new wires too?

BradLav
07-11-2011, 08:37 AM
my fuel filter was definitely plugged a little, and that made no difference in the way it ran...

So this IS an interference engine? Crap.

Spark Plug 1 - Wetttt with fuel, loose like it had backed out or wasnt put in all the way, mind you I just got the car 3 months ago, so its been like that for awhile :/

Spark Plug 6 - Carbon Filled like crazy

Spark Plug 2,3,4,5 - Normal