STFT and LTFT reading? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : STFT and LTFT reading?

G.I.Ceo
09-18-2011, 06:06 PM
Well I started tuning my GA the other day just to get a feel of what I need to work on. I am extremely new to this so I know it will take me some time to get used to it. I am using a DHP Powrtuner for the tune. My question is what is a good STFT and LTFT reading at idle so I can know if my fuel trim is in line and I can move onto scanning? Right now mine read 24-25 at STFT and 20-21 at LTFT while idling? Anyone know what a good reading is?

Malaclypse
09-18-2011, 07:41 PM
A good reading should be 0 or as close to zero as possible. Usually + or - 5 is acceptable.

+24 in short term means you're running VERY lean. To the point that the pcm is unable to compensate for it.

AleroB888
09-18-2011, 08:20 PM
Well I started tuning my GA the other day just to get a feel of what I need to work on. I am extremely new to this so I know it will take me some time to get used to it. I am using a DHP Powrtuner for the tune. My question is what is a good STFT and LTFT reading at idle so I can know if my fuel trim is in line and I can move onto scanning? Right now mine read 24-25 at STFT and 20-21 at LTFT while idling? Anyone know what a good reading is?

Bad vacuum leak could contribute to that, or wrong setting of FPR, or wrong IFR setting in PCM.....

G.I.Ceo
09-18-2011, 08:57 PM
Bad vacuum leak could contribute to that, or wrong setting of FPR, or wrong IFR setting in PCM..... I'm wondering for the vacuum leak if my valve cover air filters could cause that. I will put the oil cap back on and see if that makes a difference. My FPR is adjusted to 50 psi with the car running and vacuum hose pulled off. I do not know what IFR means so I can't tell you what my setting is.

unchained_01
09-19-2011, 06:43 AM