Need some help/ advice [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Need some help/ advice

JeepJunky33
02-27-2012, 08:56 AM
So i need some help. I have been building my buddies 99 Grand Am GT 3400 since about 2002. Making it faster stronger and better than ever. Just 2 month his wife needed the car for a while and ended up blowing the head gasket.

I believe in uprading NOT replacing. I have been looking into this 3800 supercharged V6 engine that came in the Grand Prix GTP. Is it possible to swap the enigine? Where do I find one?

If so how difficult? is there anything I need to know? Computers, trans , heavier suspension due to weight etc. Is it worth it for the power?

Help me out. OR if this is not an option what do you think I should do with it? (scrapping or giving it away is not an answer.

Really appriciaite any help of advice.
-Seth

psy7
02-27-2012, 12:32 PM
o its possible if u are willing to put in the work and time to do the modifications needed to fit the motor and supercharger in the engine bay and u will most likely need a beefier transaxle in order to take the power

slw240sx
02-28-2012, 09:23 AM
it is a lot of work, you at minimum need the engine, trans, harness, PCM, Special PS lines, special AC lines, custom Mounts, special axles that are custom built, and a bunch of other little things.

The PCM will not interface with the stock cluster. most of the parts are available, i have helped Milzy Motorsports build them. You can email him and get a better idea of the overall list and cost, but its not cheap.

I dare suggest you just look at picking up a GTP and modding that. Fix the GA sell it and offset the cost of the GTP purchase, then put on some aftermarket parts and go 12's.

JeepJunky33
02-28-2012, 09:41 AM
The problem I am encountering is that the GA has sentimental value. What do you suggest I do to it then? Any supercharges or turbo kits for this engine (3400)?

Any comments would help.