Wideband o2 [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Wideband o2


PSKpsu
03-13-2012, 03:38 PM
Alright i just bought a used wideband o2 kit. It's the same kit you can get off of PLX heres the link: http://www.plxdevices.com/wideband.php It's at the bottom of the page.

I was wondering how you wired in the signal to the pcm. do you just use the analog port on the module? when i get a chance i'll put up some pics

zukiracer19
03-13-2012, 03:42 PM
Yea you do, I'm going to look for my setup i had right now I know its somewhere downstairs.

AaronGTR
03-13-2012, 04:21 PM
Why would you wire the signal to the PCM? Our PCM can't use a WBO2 signal.

zukiracer19
03-13-2012, 04:24 PM
narrowband/wideband output to analog

PSKpsu
03-13-2012, 04:33 PM
so far this is all that i have found: http://www.plxdevices.com/AppNotes/PLXApp004.pdf

AaronGTR
03-13-2012, 07:31 PM
Yeah, I'd forget about that right quick.... it WON'T work! Innovate motorsports has a similar function on their WBO2 controller the LM-2. Their analog output for the narrow band simulation is even programmable so you can adjust the output and range, which it appears the PLX is not adjustable. Even so, I monkeyed with it for a week and could never get it to work right. You have to know EXACTLY what the output and range is for the stock sensor, and program the WB controller to mimic it exactly or it won't run right. Next to impossible!

I couldn't find any documentation on the stock sensor for voltage range and corresponding AFR. I tried hooking up the output several ways to the stock O2 wiring, both at the sensor wiring and at the PCM harness. It never ran right. It would start and run... then as soon as the warm up time passed and it went into closed loop, the AFR would start see-sawing back and forth from rich to lean, going further each way each time until the engine would stall. It ran horribly and wouldn't stay on for more than about 2 minutes. I even called the innovate tech line and they couldn't help. I told the guy I wanted to replace the factory narrow band with the WB because the NB was getting fouled up too fast running the richer AFR's under boost, and because I was having trouble getting an accurate AFR versus what was commanded in PE mode. He said it sounded like I was going to a lot of trouble for nothing and if I had a functioning factory NB I should just leave it. :rolleyes: Never mind the fact I was replacing O2 sensors every 5k miles when they are supposed to last 100k.

KillNThrill24
03-13-2012, 09:32 PM
^you my friend, have some terrible luck

PSKpsu
03-14-2012, 02:12 AM
Well in that case i'll just get a separate o2 bung and have both

zukiracer19
03-14-2012, 10:09 AM
LOL i completely didn't read what you were asking, I had a separate bung welded in.

PSKpsu
03-14-2012, 11:39 AM
haha alright then that's what i'll end up doing

PSKpsu
03-23-2012, 07:19 PM
I have S&S headers and was wondering if the collector would be the best place for the wideband? I know the Stock o2 is in the pipe the comes from the front 3 cylinders but that just doesn't seem like the best place for it. What do you guys suggest?

AaronGTR
03-23-2012, 07:40 PM
With S&S headers I always recommend adding an O2 bung to the collector and moving the stock sensor down there to get a more accurate reading. It's safer that way because if you have a problem with the injector or ignition on one cylinder on the rear bank, the O2 sensor won't read it otherwise, so the PCM won't see it and won't be able to compensate. It's always best if the PCM has a complete picture. Makes it easier to see what the problem is as well.

For a wide band I would put it in the same place, across from the stock narrow band sensor. That's how I did it on my DP. One on either side, right after the outlet of the header collector.

http://inlinethumb55.webshots.com/49142/2831801720052938416S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2831801720052938416ukDiSL)

cocobob
03-26-2012, 02:28 PM
With S&S headers I always recommend adding an O2 bung to the collector and moving the stock sensor down there to get a more accurate reading. It's safer that way because if you have a problem with the injector or ignition on one cylinder on the rear bank, the O2 sensor won't read it otherwise, so the PCM won't see it and won't be able to compensate. It's always best if the PCM has a complete picture. Makes it easier to see what the problem is as well.

For a wide band I would put it in the same place, across from the stock narrow band sensor. That's how I did it on my DP. One on either side, right after the outlet of the header collector.

http://inlinethumb55.webshots.com/49142/2831801720052938416S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2831801720052938416ukDiSL)

Will an O2 sensor bubg help eliminate my P0420 code I have since getting a new OEM CAT put on (along with new head gasket job). )No other codes. Full power going uphill so new gasket and CAT installed seems OK) Using original O2 sensors as no codes for O2 ever shows up on OBDII reader.

zukiracer19
03-26-2012, 04:37 PM
the reason he is welding an extra bung in... is because he's using a wideband a/f... way more accurate then the stock narrowband... usually for performance tuning purposes.

AaronGTR
03-26-2012, 09:09 PM
Will an O2 sensor bubg help eliminate my P0420 code I have since getting a new OEM CAT put on (along with new head gasket job). )No other codes. Full power going uphill so new gasket and CAT installed seems OK) Using original O2 sensors as no codes for O2 ever shows up on OBDII reader.


P0420 is a code for low catalyst efficiency. Even if you replaced the cat, that doesn't mean the code is going to go away. The code is set based on what the cars computer sees from the rear O2 sensor. If the sensor is bad, it's going to set a code. Those sensors don't last forever and are only good for a max of about 100,000 miles, and often less. Replace your O2 sensors.