Passlock Bypass [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Passlock Bypass

nivek98
05-01-2012, 09:01 PM
I have been fighting the intermittent not starting for over 3 years now... Started doing it once every three months or so... escalating to once every week at least now. I have taken the starter out in the past and had it tested, and passed. Cleaned the wires connections on the starter and that worked for a year. Anyway, I finally bypassed the passlock system last night, by following the how to posted here. My question is... Should the Security light stay on after bypassing the system? If so, can I take the bulb out behind there?

Sounds like I might need to check for corrosion on the BCM connections if this doesn't help my initial problems of the car not starting. Where is the BCM located? I took the glove box out looking for it. I suppose it is under the steering wheel... I have a 2002 GAGT. I know a lot has been posted about this subject, any help is appreciated.

UndeadGods
05-02-2012, 09:02 AM
The easiest way to bypass it is by getting a remoteless starter

UndeadGods
05-02-2012, 05:28 PM
Also, try this?
http://www.bergerweb.net/PasslockFix/index.shtml

nivek98
05-10-2012, 04:33 PM
Thanks for the information... I went through the system and double checked my wiring with the resistors. I checked the connectors on the BCM and they looked perfect. I didn't get a resistance reading from the specified pins.

The security light is on still... at this point I don't know what else to check. The only way to start the car when the fault happens is to short the terminals on the starter with the key in the ON position.