rim question [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : rim question


EJ01GAGT
05-20-2012, 03:02 PM
Will twenty inch rims fit on a grand am gt without rubbing

_HeC_
05-20-2012, 05:39 PM
yes but the better question is how stupid will it look.... lol

dont go bigger then 19s IMO

jd99gagt
05-20-2012, 05:57 PM
18's work good.

[ChaosweaveR]
05-20-2012, 06:32 PM
20"s can work, but they're too big, heavy, puts unnecessary extra stress on the wheel bearings, tie rods, suspension components and the transmission. Avoid.

17"s and 18"s look perfect with the GAGT.

EJ01GAGT
05-20-2012, 07:30 PM
people here r selling 20s cheaper than 18s its crazy

[ChaosweaveR]
05-20-2012, 07:37 PM
Because 90% of the companies that make 20"s are china made junk.

EJ01GAGT
05-20-2012, 07:55 PM
yea the 18s are very sexy but too high

Grreen99GT
05-20-2012, 08:11 PM
yea the 18s are very sexy but too high

If you cannot afford to do the mod right, do not do the mod at all.

UndeadGods
05-20-2012, 08:23 PM
If you cannot afford to do the mod right, do not do the mod at all.

Wise words sir.

[ChaosweaveR]
05-20-2012, 08:48 PM
yea the 18s are very sexy but too high

If there's anything I've learned, quality wheels are worth the price. However, eye up craigslist like a hawk, bargains can be found.

EJ01GAGT
05-20-2012, 09:18 PM
yea i been watching craigslist like crazy

AaronGTR
05-21-2012, 04:52 PM
It totally depends on the width, offset, and tire size you get. You can't just say yes or no, whether 20's will fit or not.

That said, you will have a lot harder time find the right size to make a 20 fit, since it is 4" larger than stock. The general rule is that you can go 2" larger than stock without too much trouble or sacrifice in reliability. 19's will work, 18's are better, 20's are more trouble than they are worth, and don't really look good anyway. :thumbs:

jd99gagt
05-21-2012, 07:03 PM
I have 15's on my car right now and it shifts way too early. I'm waiting on tires for my other rims right now but with 18s it shifts where it seems alright and even feels just a bit faster.

[ChaosweaveR]
05-21-2012, 07:20 PM
I have 15's on my car right now and it shifts way too early. I'm waiting on tires for my other rims right now but with 18s it shifts where it seems alright and even feels just a bit faster.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d102/Xaus59/b1c28690.jpg

I've had 17"s, 16"s and 15"s...the trans shifts all the same.

You're imagining things...

AaronGTR
05-21-2012, 08:57 PM
uh, yeah.... changing wheel and tire size will not affect you shifting AT ALL! :wtf

TDavis
05-21-2012, 11:10 PM
;1178164']http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d102/Xaus59/b1c28690.jpg

I've had 17"s, 16"s and 15"s...the trans shifts all the same.

You're imagining things...

After reading what that picture is reacting to, I can't stop laughing, fking hilarious

UndeadGods
05-22-2012, 04:14 AM
;1178164']http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d102/Xaus59/b1c28690.jpg

I've had 17"s, 16"s and 15"s...the trans shifts all the same.

You're imagining things...

If the tire size is wrong then the tranny has to work a lil harder than usual. Just because he had 15's on doesnt mean that they were the right size.
But having said that, yea he's probably imagining things.

[ChaosweaveR]
05-22-2012, 04:17 AM
After reading what that picture is reacting to, I can't stop laughing, fking hilarious

I have a ton of pics like those on my photobucket. lol

If the tire size is wrong then the tranny has to work a lil harder than usual. Just because he had 15's on doesnt mean that they were the right size.
But having said that, yea he's probably imagining things.

Has to be. I have 15" steelies on my GAGT, since October, it's never shifted any different than when I had my 17"s on, or the stock 16"s.

jd99gagt
05-22-2012, 07:48 AM
Maybe I should go and run some 13's then,save money on tires right? I'm sure those will work great.

UndeadGods
05-22-2012, 01:13 PM
Maybe I should go and run some 13's then,save money on tires right? I'm sure those will work great.

No, just no. :nope: :nono:

[ChaosweaveR]
05-22-2012, 05:26 PM
Maybe I should go and run some 13's then,save money on tires right? I'm sure those will work great.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d102/Xaus59/image.jpg

AaronGTR
05-22-2012, 05:33 PM
Pretty sure that was sarcasm... but if you were serious...

No, you couldn't run 13's anyway. They wouldn't fit over your brakes. :rolleyes:

FuriousG
05-22-2012, 05:56 PM
Simple, remove the brakes. As long as you look cool, functionality is irrelevant!

[ChaosweaveR]
05-22-2012, 06:57 PM
Ricers do like form over function...

jd99gagt
05-22-2012, 08:14 PM
http://www.cheaponlineparts.com/uploads/products/9151.jpgI meant these.

locoman99
05-22-2012, 08:19 PM
http://www.cheaponlineparts.com/uploads/products/9151.jpgI meant these.

I think i have seen a ga on here that has a set of those...but they are painted black....

Smithkid21
05-23-2012, 12:07 PM
I think i have seen a ga on here that has a set of those...but they are painted black....

>owns black ga
>on this forum
>dumb enough to do it

Need I say more..?

[ChaosweaveR]
05-23-2012, 12:49 PM
>owns black ga
>on this forum
>dumb enough to do it

Need I say more..?

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d102/Xaus59/5cbe27c5.jpg

UndeadGods
05-23-2012, 01:06 PM
Pretty sure that was sarcasm... but if you were serious...

No, you couldn't run 13's anyway. They wouldn't fit over your brakes. :rolleyes:


Easy fix! Remove the brakes n use the ebreak to stop :)

Smithkid21
05-23-2012, 10:30 PM
;1178292']http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d102/Xaus59/5cbe27c5.jpg

lol

locoman99
05-23-2012, 11:04 PM
>owns black ga
>on this forum
>dumb enough to do it

Need I say more..?

only one ga in here on steelies...if u are trying to infer anything about me please be less cowardly and more direct.