new guy, may be pulling engine [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : new guy, may be pulling engine

over's ga
07-16-2012, 11:12 AM
New member here, just found you. this is my second GA, need to spend some time here searching but thought I'd check in first

Name is Jim, located in Phoenix area, I'm an okay home mechanic into most anything with engine (and wheels)
--------------------------

just bought a '04 SE with a possible once seized overheated engine

I'm thinking the engine was overheated to point of seizing (locked-up) I don't know whole history but it has clean oil not milk shake, (they may of changed it) I have done heads and intake on another 3.1 recently due to the dreaded lower intake gaskets so I'm somewhat familiar with its Achillies heal

It took some effort to turn over at crank bolt with wrench but I got it to move after going back and forth a bit, but still harder then expected. after, I was able to turn over with starter and fresh battery but it sounds tight and slower then normal, it won't start and I have never heard it run.
-has 124,000 mi
-back head has overheat button epoxied to it (so it been worked on b4)
-Radiator reservoir is empty (not sure if rad full)
-yet to pull it apart or do any more diagnosing on it

unchained_01
07-16-2012, 12:54 PM
Pull the plugs and see how it spins, If its still tight I pull the motor and start over
If not
Tear it down and see whats wrong you are probably going to replace the head gaskets anyway
I would seriously drain the oil and check it how does the resivoir tank cap look ? and the oil cap ? PVC ? check those for oil water build up maybe even the front valve cover to see if the previous owner spun a bearing and tried to cover it up
Hopefully they didnt knock the bearings out of it

over's ga
07-16-2012, 03:35 PM