Overheating, fixed problem, still no heat? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Overheating, fixed problem, still no heat?

DarkoNova
07-20-2012, 04:37 PM
Hi guys. First post, but I've been browsing for a while since my gf has a 2000 GT. :hay:

Anyway, long post incoming lol:

Few weeks ago she calls and says her car overheated. So she pulled over and let it cool. I get up there and notice one of the heater core hoses was hissing. So we replaced the hose and bled the system. Or tried to, I couldn't get a solid stream of water to come out of the bleeder, and the heater never really got hot. We got it home and let it warm up again and I saw bubbles coming from between the head and block. So we tore the engine down, took a straight edge to the heads and saw they were still fine, so we got a head gasket kit from Autozone. Replaced the head gaskets, upper and lower intake gaskets, some random O-rings, and whatever else came in the kit. Started it up and no more bubbles or leaks, and it idles and runs fine, but the temp creeps up when idling at a light and eventually will shoot up to the red if left running long enough (assuming it will, we let it get to the 3/4 mark and shut it off). Before shutting it off, though, I got under and checked the radiator. Only the passenger's side was actually hot, the driver's side was cold enough that I could let my hand rest on it without getting burned.

So I ordered a new radiator and we just installed that, and even installed a new radiator cap. We were able to get a solid stream of water out of the bleeder this time, but the heater still never gets hot. I don't really want to flush it and get crap in the brand new radiator, but I also don't want to have to pull the dash just to change the heater core.

I'm still waiting on a new thermostat and hoses to get here (local parts houses can suck it, $20 a hose versus $2 a hose online lol), so I'm hoping the thermostat will fix it.

Kinda doubting it, though, honestly.