wiering harness [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : wiering harness

chillaxer32
08-12-2012, 03:33 PM
hello, i went to walmart and canadian tire, i can only find a wiering harness for ponitac 89 to 98. i have a 2000 grand am gt, would that part be compatible? I also seen a 01 to 05, none that actully said 2000 grand am. would i have to special order can would ither of those work? also same situation with the instalation kit, it currently has a kit for a 2000 sunfire gt, would that bracket fit in y 2000 grand am? also this is my first time installing, its a jensen dvd player if anyone has a step by step on install procedure that would be great, please include the by pass to be able to have dvd going while driving (for passenger ofcourse) thanks so much in advance

chillaxer32
08-12-2012, 03:35 PM
sorry i also forgot to ask, i have lost the remote to this car dvd stereo, is there anyway to get universal remotes for in dash players?

AaronGTR
08-12-2012, 04:42 PM
Why do you need to replace the entire wiring harness? That's not an easy task, especially since there is not complete disconnect between the interior and the engine compartment at the firewall. Anyway...

I don't know why they wouldn't list a 2000 harness. It should be pretty much the same as the 2001. Actually they changed the cam sensor harness lead in 2003, so I don't even know why they would list the harness as '01-'05 because they aren't the same... unless they aren't including the injector harness. That's the only thing I can think of though.

For the radio, there are no universal remotes that I can think of. The coding is usually manufacturer specific. I'd say your best bet would be to contact the company who made your radio.