Lights wont turn off [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Lights wont turn off


EJ01GAGT
01-02-2013, 04:28 PM
Exterior and dash lights wont turn off tried everything.

TDavis
01-02-2013, 04:39 PM
All dat bass you got probably jiggled around wires.

EJ01GAGT
01-02-2013, 04:48 PM
Thasts the thing i havent played my music

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 02:29 PM
any help

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 04:30 PM
Done any wiring lately?

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 05:27 PM
nope none this issue just occured

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 06:24 PM
The only time I have personally seen this was a car stereo wired wrong, the wire that dims the stock radio was (i have no clue why) hooked together with the 12+/key hot wire. So, even though the radio fuse had blown, the stereo came on, AND the parking lights were on, whenever the key was on.

Aside of that, I have no first hand experience..but wire gremlins do show up from time to time, and can be a royal pain to track down

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 06:47 PM
ok my drls turn off but the park lights and tails stay on

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 07:00 PM
the parking lights turning on is what turns on your dash lighting.. i don't know that maybe a relay may not have fried, i suppose it's possible, they do crap out. I'd see if i could find one in the junk yard and swap it real quick.

do they shut off with the key? or are they always on???

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 07:02 PM
always on even with the key out

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 07:06 PM
Well then.. what do you have running straight off your battery?

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 08:10 PM
nothing but a sub fuse

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 08:28 PM
And you've pulled that fuse just to rule out something crossed up with the amp?

You've got a directly hot feed doing that, if there isn't a cross up in wiring, which if you've haven't had it apart lately, that's probably not it, the other option would very well be the multiswitch in the steering column is the culprit. I have no clue how to dig into it, mine **knock on wood** has been so far, so good. That would be the next thing to look at though in my eyes

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 08:36 PM
the multiswitch has been clicking like crazy lately

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 08:47 PM
aaaaah HA!

i bet that's it, search.... switch clicking maybe?? and the sticky for how to open that up and clean it should be up top of the results, i bet that's your demon dude

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 08:48 PM
how much is a new one

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 08:49 PM
I'm pretty sure you just clean it and that will fix it



(btw, how hilarious is that sentence, on it's own, taken out of context?? lol )

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 08:50 PM
Wait, here it is:

http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50126&highlight=ticking+switch

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 08:57 PM
yea thats too hard 4 me lol

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 08:58 PM
Me too lol

I've been lucky so far, when it comes down to it, I'll open it up and try it, I don't trust anyone, so I'll end up figuring it out, but I haven't had to do it yet, sorry boss!

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 09:00 PM
lol might take it to a shop i hate the idea but i rather not screw up

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 09:04 PM
with it being contacts, you MIGHT be able to get a shop that installs car stereos/remote start to look at it. they live in the dashboard, it might be worth a shot... i'd trust them in the wires before a general mechanic in some cases..
but there are horror stories both ways on that too.. so it's your car and cash, i'll zip it now :D

kzulfic
01-04-2013, 09:07 PM
yea thats too hard 4 me lol

Nothing is to hard on these. Just take your time, make sure you have a totally free day and tackle it. Take your time and follow how to. You'll never learn unless you try. If your really unsure go to the j/y and destroy one there, and if you don't destroy that one clean it and swap it out for yours.

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 09:11 PM
yea sounds easy but im the worlds biggest screw up

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 09:15 PM
I've never met you, but I know for a fact that is an incorrect statement:

You should meet any given number of my customers lol

You ain't even top 100

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 09:19 PM
but knowing me ill have a shop look at the multiswitch and go from there

kzulfic
01-04-2013, 09:20 PM
J/Y man. mess up theirs before yours.

EJ01GAGT
01-04-2013, 09:21 PM
yea ill try it

bricooper78
01-04-2013, 09:21 PM
http://www.miataturbo.net/attachments/build-threads-57/55164-cordycords-epic-tube-frame-build-waterboy-you-can-do-jpg?dateline=1348058966

EJ01GAGT
01-08-2013, 04:50 PM
Problem solved damned multiswitch

bricooper78
01-08-2013, 05:02 PM
F YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gimme a cookie! I guessed right lol

EJ01GAGT
01-08-2013, 05:18 PM
Yup no more clicking wooooooooo

bricooper78
01-08-2013, 05:25 PM
Did you just clean in up? Or did you change it?

EJ01GAGT
01-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Brand new one

bricooper78
01-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Schweeeeeet

EJ01GAGT
01-08-2013, 05:29 PM
Thanks coop glad it wasnt the bcm

bricooper78
01-08-2013, 05:29 PM
It was a lucky guess man.. how much did a new multiswitch set ya back?