gas mileage [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : gas mileage

cdm10700
01-22-2013, 07:00 PM
i have a 2000 GA GT 3.4 at. after i first purchased it, it got decent gas mileage and it seems like when it started to get cold outside last winter the mileage went down to about 12-15 if im lucky, i have changed plugs wires filters fuel pump temp sensor t-stat coolant tranny fluid filter and cleaned throttle body still doesnt seem to help. anyone have a solution for this anything something thanks

kzulfic
01-22-2013, 07:03 PM
Try any injector cleaners?

bricooper78
01-22-2013, 07:04 PM
Clean your Mass Air Flow sensor.

Does it smell like gas? Check engine light? Have you had it checked for codes?

BrittsBen
01-22-2013, 07:06 PM
I'm no expert but what can of air intake do you have? Sometimes vacuum leaks can cause loss of mileage.

Sometimes o2 sensors will wear out before throwing codes and affect performance.

Have you checked your tire pressure? The big tires on these cars can be deceptive looking.

Have you tried pulling your injectors and inspecting them?

I'd also check for fuel line leaks as the mileage you describe seems way off from what we've been getting.

Sorry if none of this helps, just trying to give back since this site has helped me.

klokworx
01-22-2013, 07:25 PM
Had an oil change recently? Run synthetic in the winter

bricooper78
01-22-2013, 07:28 PM
Britts--- I was going to bring up vacuum leak and CAI myself lol

cdm10700
01-23-2013, 04:52 PM
what is cai?
changed oil didnt try synthetic never thought it could help,
i only found one rubber vaccum hose it was cracked so i changed it,
i still have the stock air intake system, even ran motor without filter,
i have checked tire pressure several times, i did change both o2 sensors, no fuel leaks, i havent pulled the injectors but thought about it, guy i know said he could check to see if they are working properly,
cleaned mass air flow sensor,no light but did check for codes