Transmission starting to fail possibly??? [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Transmission starting to fail possibly???


TokeyginGAGT
07-07-2013, 01:24 PM
when shifting into gears transmission jumps, at times when put into reverse it takes a couple seconds to shift into gear, when put in drive and driving it shifts hard into first gear at 3000-3500 rpms

any advice would be helpful.....;crap

zukiracer19
07-07-2013, 02:22 PM
Time for a new tranny. Mine goes in Tuesday.

sleepyalero
07-07-2013, 06:15 PM
Any intake sensors unplugged?

sugar ray
07-07-2013, 09:31 PM
I had this issue once with my 02. Almost feels like a shift kit installed with hard shifts to first. It was a bad tps for me. Aka. Throttle position sensor. Kind of expensive for a new one but you can get one cheap from a wrecking yard. If your tranny is on the way out it may not matter now but have you ever changed the tranny oil? Upgrading from dex 3 to 6 is a nice option but make sure you have a good tranny before doing so.

PhantomLover007
07-08-2013, 09:00 AM
My GA started acting up coming home last night and had 100+ miles to get to home. Seemed like it really wasn't moving, but when I gave it gas, the RPMs were high. Had to hit 85 or 90 mph for it to shift to 4th gear. Started throwing 0123 codes (throttle position sensor). Just at idle, RPMs were around 2000 RPMs. Hard shifts from 1st to 2nd. Shifts normally around 3000-3500 RPMs.

A new sensor from Advanced Auto is around $40. Seems a pretty easy install.

[ChaosweaveR]
07-08-2013, 09:14 AM
Yeah, a bad TPS or IAT sensor can make the trans act haywire.

Happened to me a long time ago when I left the IAT sensor unplugged. Banged hard into every gear, sounded like the trans was about to die. Realized the IAT sensor was disconnected the next day, plugged it in, trans went back to normal.

AleroB888
07-08-2013, 09:53 AM
My GA started acting up coming home last night and had 100+ miles to get to home. Seemed like it really wasn't moving, but when I gave it gas, the RPMs were high. Had to hit 85 or 90 mph for it to shift to 4th gear. Started throwing 0123 codes (throttle position sensor). Just at idle, RPMs were around 2000 RPMs. Hard shifts from 1st to 2nd. Shifts normally around 3000-3500 RPMs.

A new sensor from Advanced Auto is around $40. Seems a pretty easy install.

Buyer beware! the local parts stores, Autozone, O'Reilly's, etc. are stocking 2 different generic replacements for TPS, one of which is cheap and flimsy compared to the original. I had to take one back because it was defective right out of the box, read 4-7 % @ zero.

Get one that has the same size (larger) ball bearing inside.

PhantomLover007
07-08-2013, 12:51 PM
Buyer beware! the local parts stores, Autozone, O'Reilly's, etc. are stocking 2 different generic replacements for TPS, one of which is cheap and flimsy compared to the original. I had to take one back because it was defective right out of the box, read 4-7 % @ zero.

Get one that has the same size (larger) ball bearing inside.

Not cool.

Ball bearing????


This one

http://shop.advanceautoparts.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_throttle-position-sensor-bwd_18470351-p?navigationPath=L1*14932%7CL2*14985%7CL3*15362#

PhantomLover007
07-08-2013, 12:53 PM
;1220250']Yeah, a bad TPS or IAT sensor can make the trans act haywire.

Happened to me a long time ago when I left the IAT sensor unplugged. Banged hard into every gear, sounded like the trans was about to die. Realized the IAT sensor was disconnected the next day, plugged it in, trans went back to normal.

Ummm. Yeah... did that to mine too Chris. At the track...

AleroB888
07-08-2013, 01:10 PM
Not cool.

Ball bearing???


Inside the center part that slips over the throttle body shaft. If you have the original AC part, bring it with you to compare to the new one.

PhantomLover007
07-08-2013, 01:49 PM
Inside the center part that slips over the throttle body shaft. If you have the original AC part, bring it with you to compare to the new one.

Ah OK. So AC Delco is the OEM part?

If that's the case I sthink they sell that at Advanced and all..

TokeyginGAGT
07-08-2013, 09:26 PM
wow thanks for the insight guys, i will get the transmission checked first to see if it is on the way out or if i just need to flush it and replace sensors.....ill keep you posted

PhantomLover007
07-10-2013, 07:20 AM
Got the Delphi brand and swapped out the TPS w/in 5 mins and everything was back to normal .. YAY!!!