Deinstall the supercharger... [Archive] - GrandAmGT.com Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Deinstall the supercharger...


PhantomLover007
09-23-2013, 06:44 PM
About ready to deinstall the S/C. I want to get the thing rebuilt.

As for the issue(s) I'm having I may have found them.

The bypass seems to have been moved. Right now, the linkage itself is pressing against the coolant hose running near it and the bypass body is pressed against the cowling on the fan.



Against the hose..

http://i424.photobucket.com/albums/pp323/PhantomLover007/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-23_19-28-54_841_zps569a7097.jpg (http://s424.photobucket.com/user/PhantomLover007/media/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-23_19-28-54_841_zps569a7097.jpg.html)

The bypass housing..

http://i424.photobucket.com/albums/pp323/PhantomLover007/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-23_19-32-43_827_zpsa0c330bd.jpg (http://s424.photobucket.com/user/PhantomLover007/media/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-23_19-32-43_827_zpsa0c330bd.jpg.html)

The cut area of the cowling is where the bypass was sitting before IIRC..

AleroB888
09-23-2013, 07:10 PM
Well that's weird, but the position looks correct on the SC.....I'll put a pic up here as soon as possible.....

TDavis
09-23-2013, 07:18 PM
Sell me it, I'll give you $1000 :D

AleroB888
09-23-2013, 07:40 PM
I had to notch out the battery tray in this one....

http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/rr299/Gflash01/bypass-4_zps66d09dc3.jpg

copper tubing for the bypass hose, heater hose is wrapped, it contacted the bottom of SC....every install is a little different.

http://i493.photobucket.com/albums/rr299/Gflash01/bypass-5_zps82380e21.jpg

PhantomLover007
09-23-2013, 07:49 PM
Thanks Greg. I have to see if there is a bypass hose running to there..

Ugh...

Pics are helping alot

BJPbrandon2448
09-23-2013, 08:09 PM
These pics are helping me a ton as well, Matt I think we may be able to help each other a ton!!! We basically have the same issues going on and I just bought an Eaton and am having a difficult time getting it to function right!!! Thanks Greg for your help, I really do appreciate it Iv'e just been getting agitated over it! Could you do me a favor bud and take as many pics as possible of your bypass system??? I could really use them to help determine the factory position mine is the same as yours its slammed against that coolant hose and I'm worried that its not having enough strength to move the throttle linkage because of that hose? I even took an inch off of it just like the manual says... :(

PhantomLover007
09-23-2013, 08:22 PM
Yea. The manual isn't the best..

BJPbrandon2448
09-23-2013, 08:34 PM
Yea. The manual isn't the best..

Agreed.

AleroB888
09-23-2013, 09:20 PM
Thanks Greg. I have to see if there is a bypass hose running to there..

Ugh...

Pics are helping alot

On your setup in the pic it looks like the wrong piece of the fan mount was notched out. The bypass canister looks to be in the right place. I think you will have to take the SC off, get in there and snip some, file some, etc. You could cut another 3/8 to 1/2 inch off the heater hose...however when I did, I had to go back and retighten the hose once or twice, iirc.

There is supposed to be a small brass flow restrictor where the bypass hose connects. That gets lost easily. Instead I use the small diameter copper tube as a restrictor. What that allows is the butterfly valve to open and close gradually as it goes in and out of boost.

PhantomLover007
09-24-2013, 05:32 AM
Yeah. I'll work on that then Greg. Thanks again man.

I found out also that one of the clamps securing the small hose connecting the inlet on the engine to the outlet on the S/C was not tight.. Ugh.

I go a regular serpentine belt to start the deinstall. Thank God for the auto craft shops on base.

AaronGTR
09-24-2013, 07:46 AM
On your setup in the pic it looks like the wrong piece of the fan mount was notched out. The bypass canister looks to be in the right place. I think you will have to take the SC off, get in there and snip some, file some, etc. You could cut another 3/8 to 1/2 inch off the heater hose...however when I did, I had to go back and retighten the hose once or twice, iirc.

There is supposed to be a small brass flow restrictor where the bypass hose connects. That gets lost easily. Instead I use the small diameter copper tube as a restrictor. What that allows is the butterfly valve to open and close gradually as it goes in and out of boost.


Not sure if they all have that brass fitting. I don't recall ever seeing one on mine, and I've been the only owner of this kit. It may depend on what gen blower you have or what bypass actuator it came with.

But yeah, it looks at the correct angle on his. Just looks like the wrong part of the fan shroud is trimmed. On mine, I only had to trim a little section of one fin on the fan shroud. My actuator never touched the battery tray or the radiator hose. That's really strange for any of them to touch the hose, because mine is at least 1/2" away. But that could definitely cause problems with the operation if the hose is preventing the actuator arm from moving freely.

Yeah. I'll work on that then Greg. Thanks again man.

I found out also that one of the clamps securing the small hose connecting the inlet on the engine to the outlet on the S/C was not tight.. Ugh.

I go a regular serpentine belt to start the deinstall. Thank God for the auto craft shops on base.

If they didn't have the clamp tight on that connection you could have been leaking boost. Just based on the video though, the noise it was making and how the engine was reacting, I don't think that was the only problem.

PhantomLover007
09-24-2013, 10:09 AM
If they didn't have the clamp tight on that connection you could have been leaking boost. Just based on the video though, the noise it was making and how the engine was reacting, I don't think that was the only problem.

Yeah. So far I've had two hoses that weren't secured. The one running from the AIT to the rear valve cover was seperated too..

Piss poor for a shop that works on muscle cars and race cars.

I just need a house w/ a garage and a lift so I can do my own work... lol lol

BJPbrandon2448
09-24-2013, 10:22 AM
I think my bypass is doing the same, when I removed the battery it's basically smashed against the hose as well, I can move it with my hand but it's very stiff! I'm just gonna have to man up and remove the bitch!

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 10:52 AM
Ok. I reinstalled the SC, shortened the coolant hose, and trimmed the fan shroud to clear the bypass.

Now. There is a port on the underside of the inlet for the SC that is blocked off w/ a piece of metal, 2 bolts and orange rtv. It just doesn't look right.

TDavis
09-29-2013, 11:06 AM
So is the S/C thats for the GA actually supposed to be this difficult to install or are there little gremlins messing sht up?

BJPbrandon2448
09-29-2013, 11:07 AM
Ok. I reinstalled the SC, shortened the coolant hose, and trimmed the fan shroud to clear the bypass.

Now. There is a port on the underside of the inlet for the SC that is blocked off w/ a piece of metal, 2 bolts and orange rtv. It just doesn't look right.

That would be a block off port for the EGR... Its where you are supposed re-route the flexible metal hose too. If I were you I would probably leave it just the way you have it now... Your car will throw a code, unless you get it scanned.

BJPbrandon2448
09-29-2013, 11:08 AM
So is the S/C thats for the GA actually supposed to be this difficult to install or are there little gremlins messing sht up?

There are a lot of little gremlins messing **** up!!! I haven't even got around to pulling mine out of the car yet, I may do it this afternoon.

geldartb
09-29-2013, 11:11 AM
I just need a house w/ a garage and a lift so I can do my own work... lol lol
i've done pretty good so far with a jack and a bunch of jack stands. a lift would make things a billion times easier but for now what i got works.

when ever i do get a house a decent size garage is on the short list or at least room to build one.
or are there little gremlins messing sht up?

my vote is for gremlins.. they sneek in and mess my **** up and move my stuff around so i can't find it the next time..lol

AleroB888
09-29-2013, 12:26 PM
Ok. I reinstalled the SC, shortened the coolant hose, and trimmed the fan shroud to clear the bypass.

Now. There is a port on the underside of the inlet for the SC that is blocked off w/ a piece of metal, 2 bolts and orange rtv. It just doesn't look right.

That's correctly installed.

and btw, that spot can also make use of a 1/2 inch NPT threaded flange bung as an extra port for vacuum, such as the power brake hose.

If the heater hose still touches the SC, wrap it with header wrap or silicone tape...

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 12:50 PM
I never did an EGR delete

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 04:40 PM
OK. Got everything put back in. The coolant hose just barely clears the bypass linkage, but it's noting like it was.

Casualties: 1 busted ring finger loosening one of the 3 bolts on the supercharger

Had an engine A-frame nearly fail on me when changing the serpentine belt, so I had to use a real engine lift, which meant I had to remove the hood to raise the lift arm and raise the car up on the lift to slide the legs of the lift under the car... So much fun.. ;crap

The "EGR delete" can be seen here.. http://i424.photobucket.com/albums/pp323/PhantomLover007/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-29_11-59-09_360_zps80897e0b.jpg (http://s424.photobucket.com/user/PhantomLover007/media/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-29_11-59-09_360_zps80897e0b.jpg.html)

The bypass
http://i424.photobucket.com/albums/pp323/PhantomLover007/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-29_11-46-40_233_zps5e27a104.jpg (http://s424.photobucket.com/user/PhantomLover007/media/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-29_11-46-40_233_zps5e27a104.jpg.html)

One other casualty:

The IAC sensor plug....
http://i424.photobucket.com/albums/pp323/PhantomLover007/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-29_15-58-06_225_zps095650d4.jpg (http://s424.photobucket.com/user/PhantomLover007/media/supercharger%20deinstall/2013-09-29_15-58-06_225_zps095650d4.jpg.html)

All in all the S/C isn't too hard to do, just a lot of unbolting..

sleepyalero
09-29-2013, 05:19 PM
Just get a new iac pig tail.

BJPbrandon2448
09-29-2013, 06:18 PM
Ummm... Yeah mine doesn't have an I.A.C. plug there? Weird...?

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 06:26 PM
Where is your's Brandon

mfuller
09-29-2013, 06:43 PM
IAC is installed in the throttle body.
The sensor on the SC outlet casting is the IAT (intake air temperature) sensor.

BJPbrandon2448
09-29-2013, 06:53 PM
IAC is installed in the throttle body.
The sensor on the SC outlet casting is the IAT (intake air temperature) sensor.

Am I supposed to have a sensor there though? Mine just has a black plug type thing with a bolt covering it?

mfuller
09-29-2013, 07:07 PM
Am I supposed to have a sensor there though? Mine just has a black plug type thing with a bolt covering it?
Unless you have relocated the sensor somewhere else, then yes, you should have the IAT sensor installed there.

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 07:11 PM
Unless you have relocated the sensor somewhere else, then yes, you should have the IAT sensor installed there.

Thanks for getting me straight Matt.


IAC is installed in the throttle body.
The sensor on the SC outlet casting is the IAT (intake air temperature) sensor.


This may be why you're not running right Brandon. IDK though

AaronGTR
09-29-2013, 07:14 PM
Am I supposed to have a sensor there though? Mine just has a black plug type thing with a bolt covering it?

got a pic? Yes there should be a sensor there. It's usually in the black rubber intake tube that is between the maf sensor and tb on a stock car. On the SC it gets relocated to the outlet and there is a small bracket that holds it down with a 10 mm bolt.

there should be a lead on your harness somewhere that will plug into that as well.

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 07:15 PM
got a pic? Yes there should be a sensor there. It's usually in the black rubber intake tube that is between the maf sensor and tb on a stock car. On the SC it gets relocated to the outlet and there is a small bracket that holds it down with a 10 mm bolt.

And you have to plug the hole where it comes out of.

Damn that sounds messed up... ;crap... lol lol

You need to take the rubber gasket ring and put it there too.

PhantomLover007
09-29-2013, 07:26 PM
They may have just put the plug in there so that you could use it later on when you installed everything in your GA. So it wouldn't get lost I'm guessing.

AaronGTR
09-30-2013, 06:35 AM
It's in the directions, so if you have a copy of the install manual it should have told you what to do with the IAT sensor. ;)

BJPbrandon2448
09-30-2013, 10:26 AM
It's in the directions, so if you have a copy of the install manual it should have told you what to do with the IAT sensor. ;)

Lol... Well they had a black plug in there with the cover and bolt on it so it looked completely normal? Would this have kept the car from running though? I guess I overlooked this on the install, upon re-reading the manual its listed very early and briefly in like step 5 or 6, very easy to overlook!

PhantomLover007
09-30-2013, 10:27 AM
Sheesh.. A new pig tail from the stealership is $30+

AleroB888
09-30-2013, 10:36 AM
Lol... Well they had a black plug in there with the cover and bolt on it so it looked completely normal? Would this have kept the car from running though? I guess I overlooked this on the install, upon re-reading the manual its listed very early and briefly in like step 5 or 6, very easy to overlook!

take a good pic of it and we'll tell you, :angel

AaronGTR
09-30-2013, 11:40 AM
Lol... Well they had a black plug in there with the cover and bolt on it so it looked completely normal? Would this have kept the car from running though? I guess I overlooked this on the install, upon re-reading the manual its listed very early and briefly in like step 5 or 6, very easy to overlook!


Well, I don't think it was your only problem, but it certainly could have been part of it. The PCM uses the IAT for a couple things like as part of the calculation of air density for determining fuel needs, and for making adjustments to ignition timing based on air temp, so yeah it's kinda important for that sensor to be plugged in.

BJPbrandon2448
09-30-2013, 12:05 PM
I had the sensor plugged in but I just figured that the sensor was supposed to just go back in it's previous position on the cold air intake? I guess that was wrong though... I will snap a picture later today... I had no idea there was a plug in there.

AaronGTR
09-30-2013, 06:47 PM
I had the sensor plugged in but I just figured that the sensor was supposed to just go back in it's previous position on the cold air intake? I guess that was wrong though... I will snap a picture later today... I had no idea there was a plug in there.


Ok, well if you had it plugged in, then that probably wasn't the problem. It's ideal to have it in the blower outlet, because you want the PCM to see what the actual air temp is going into the engine behind the SC, not in front. But as long as it was actually plugged in, the PCM would be getting some kind of signal so it wouldn't freak out.