GrandAmGT.com Forum

GrandAmGT.com Forum (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/index.php)
-   HOW TO's (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   HOW TO: Intstall a 6 speed in a GA GT (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73212)

caraudiodave 02-19-2008 04:11 PM

Im very impressed. i always thought about doing this, and might have done it after seeing your thread, if i had the car still.

myneedforspeed 02-19-2008 09:56 PM

:applause:
props to you...This is a huge step for the GA community

mfuller 02-20-2008 06:05 AM

Simply incredible. Major props to you Tim.

timka86 02-21-2008 07:49 AM

Thank you, thank you!
anyway, time for an update, now note I work at a full time job, so i normally get in the garage after 6pm and get out shortly after 11pm.

that's about all the time I have without going totally sleep deprived. and not getting my wife super mad at me.

well the mounts are almost all in order. I ended up using the stock G6 rear trans mount. It's a nice beefy mount, with only 1/8th inch cut off each side (since it's aluminum, it was easy) it fit in the stock grand am mount bracket that's bolted over the steering rack.

Using this mount, as I mentioned earlier, it pulled everything back about an inch, maybe 3/4 of an inch, so to make the engine nice a perpendicular, i drilled one hole and modified the side engine mount and that was an easy fix. here's a picture. (if you look at the aluminum bracket on the 3400 mount it already has 3 holes, 2 of which are used, i used the unused hole and drilled another to match it. pictures speek louder then words:
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5986.jpg

moving everything back, means the front mount wont align, because everthing is now pulled backwards, so luckily my dad's job has some perks that he can make me a few things that would be harder at home, he made this bracker, the two threaded hole will bolt to the front stock grand am trans mount, the other two vertical holes will bolt to the transmission and it's a thick piece of metal spacing it enough to keep the stock mount without needing other changes to the mount.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5983.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5984.jpg

after considering all the options, this was the one that worked the best with the least possible customization, so that it's the easiest to recreate if anyone was interested later on.

with the least about of work on those three mounts, the most work require was on the driver's side trans mount, as I had to remove the stock auto trans mount, I had absolutely nothing to work with there. I found some pics of the stock G6 mount, instead of buying that and welding it to the frame, I decided to make my own, but the main concept is the same.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5979.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5980.jpg

the following bracket bolts to the transmission and will sit on top of that urethane trans mount that I bought at autozone for 20 bucks. so it's stiff yet gives me so dampening.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5981.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5982.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5985.jpg

my welding is getting much better too:) weld a flat piece of steel to the bottom of the subframe, I welder a little piece on the front to help in case that itwould bend down under the stress/weight. and i chose the front rather then rear so it would also block out the water that would splash there and cause unnecessary corrosion.

KhellendrosxS 02-21-2008 09:23 AM

Yeah, those welds dont look too bad. Im curious what kind of welder you are using. A Mig takes most of the guesswork out of welding and you get some pretty good beads even if you are new. Stick on the other hand is a whole different story and even harder when you are in awkward postions.

timka86 02-21-2008 09:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by khellendrosxs (Post 960516)
Yeah, those welds dont look too bad. Im curious what kind of welder you are using. A Mig takes most of the guesswork out of welding and you get some pretty good beads even if you are new. Stick on the other hand is a whole different story and even harder when you are in awkward postions.

it's a flux wire welder (90 amp), kinda like MIG, you just have to stop and clean a little more often.

nascarnate326 02-22-2008 01:44 PM

Your married already?

I might have missed it, but are you freshening up the motor at all?

Does this make your car 1/1? Are there any other 3400 manual cars?

baker07 02-22-2008 02:08 PM

yeah there is a few other manual 3400s but this is the 1st 6 spd i seen in a grand am 3400

timka86 02-22-2008 03:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nascarnate326 (Post 960899)
Your married already?

I might have missed it, but are you freshening up the motor at all?

Does this make your car 1/1? Are there any other 3400 manual cars?

yep got married last year in june,

yes, some motor upgrades too, SS valves, LS6 springs, I wanted to do cam, but time constraints aren't allowing me, I'm getting a 65mm tb, i already have a ported upper, I'm going to port the lower and heads some too.

1/1 for a six speed yes:) i think theyre a 5 speed alero out there and some baretta's with a 3400 and obd2, but no 6 speeds

timka86 02-24-2008 02:34 PM

update 2-24-08:
been working on it the last couple of days, have some time to post an update. here's some pics.

On Thursday 2/21 I put my block and the transmission, with clutch flywheel assembly in the car permanently, rustoleum paint on the welded parts to inhibit rust. I have pics but not with me, so I'll get those posted later here's on that I have:
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6003.jpg

on friday, I started hacking at the interior to install the shifter, puller out the stock shifter and cable, unfortunately the G6 cables are shorter so you can't use the same hole in the firewall for the new cables, on the G6 they go through the firewall closer to the steering column, on the automatic, it's in the floor on the passenger side and then loops towards the transmission. don't have pics of the cable routing, will get those to you, but have some shots of the interior and shifter.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5989.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5993.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5990.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5991.jpg
I decided to use the stock G6 boot, it's brand new, it's a little darker in color then the grand am interior, but I like it, I'll have to order one slightly taller from RedLine goods and I'll get a matching hand brake boot too, but here's what it's going to look like (add the knob too):
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5994.jpg

I had to chop up the G6 shifter some, mostly the bottom front, as it didn't sit level to make it fit, but it's sits very securely. The stock shifter sits on four studs welded to the body of the car, I had to chop those off. if someone is going to do this, don't chope the rear two, closer to the ebrake all the way off, leave a few threads, and puts the nuts back on they hold the ebrake down. without, it's really wobbly without those, I used some self tapping sheet metal screws and attached everything to the car.

yesterday was all engine work, Cleaned up the manifolds, heads, and installed LS6 springs and SS valves, seated the valves. and will port match the upper intake to a 65mm TCE TB, which is to arrive shortly.

do note that the shifter cable come out right next to the fuel line hoses, so it's kinda cramped, but workable. and also good news is that the VSS connector is the same on both the 4T45E and the F40. in the pics note that there's also a bracket that mounts there that the cables attach to which crowds that area even more.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5996.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_5998.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6004.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6006.jpg

Big Joe 02-24-2008 04:24 PM

dam good thread.

LukeL 02-25-2008 04:42 AM

Nice...

baker07 02-25-2008 06:17 AM

look real good

b_massey02 02-25-2008 06:59 AM

Wow! Making a ton of progress! Keep it up!

timka86 02-26-2008 07:25 AM

update time 2/26/08:

well earlier I had a picture of the clutch pedal and this honking piece of aluminum, that piece of aluminum is already in the car, it's the same on the autos and stick shift cars, they just don't attach the pedal to the auto cars, here' the pedal assembly all by itself, I do have a question you may be able to help me with, labrat might know, there's a switch behind the clutch pedal used for the soul purpose fo disable the started without depressing the pedal all the way, but there's also a switch in the front of the pedal that tells when the pedal is released, what is that used for? (it's white and blue in the pic)
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6007.jpg
two holes up there is where the started disable switch mounts, there's three slits right in front of that, not shown that the pedal bolts up to, very tight squeeze, I didn't want to pull apart the dash to get it there, so with some awkward positioning,, but I got the bolts in.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6010.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6012.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6011.jpg

I drilled a hole in the firewall between the two bolts where the clutch cylinder mounts: there's a push rod that goes from the pedal to the cylinder, that was kind of a pain, to get it, it's a very tight squeeze because to put it in, you need to get a slight space between the firewall and that aluminum bracket under the dash and it took some prying to do that.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6014.jpg

and here's the cable routing pictures I promised earlier, they're very stiff, they go above the gas pedal, but will not touch, there's a few inches between the two, I'll zip tie them in place so I don't kick them with my foot, but i'm not worried about them getting in the way.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6008.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6009.jpg

that's all for yesterday, will work on it again tonight.

bigbenSC 02-26-2008 08:29 PM

Quote:

I do have a question you may be able to help me with, labrat might know, there's a switch behind the clutch pedal used for the soul purpose fo disable the started without depressing the pedal all the way, but there's also a switch in the front of the pedal that tells when the pedal is released, what is that used for? (it's white and blue in the pic)
I'd put money on it being a cruise control disable switch. Press in the clutch a little and the car knows to kill engine power before the shift occurs.

Great work by the way!

Lab Rat 02-27-2008 08:47 AM

bigbengt96 is correct Tim. I never did install it even though it's laying in the garage somewhere. If you install it just hook it in with the brake switch for the CC disable.
BTW, haven't commented much in your thread but wow, you get props. Great job and excellent write up. I would really like to see the ride. Are you gonna make the meet this summer? Hit me up if you think I can help.

timka86 02-27-2008 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lab Rat (Post 962318)
bigbengt96 is correct Tim. I never did install it even though it's laying in the garage somewhere. If you install it just hook it in with the brake switch for the CC disable.
BTW, haven't commented much in your thread but wow, you get props. Great job and excellent write up. I would really like to see the ride. Are you gonna make the meet this summer? Hit me up if you think I can help.

ok, well I think i used cruise control only once before, so I may wire it up just for safety purposes. thanks for the info, I'm planning on being at the summer meet, so you should see me there.

small update, hooked up the clutch cylinder to the pedal, and trans, bled the system, seems to work, no leaks. Don't have a pic right now, maybe tonight. hooked up the shifter and cables, shifting ok, just need some minor cable adjustment.

SSRacer 02-27-2008 12:15 PM

It seems funny having those shifter cables. The only manuals I've has were my old nova, where the shifter bolted right to the side of the tranny and my 96 z26 where it just dropped into the top of the tranny.

Lots of work. Looking good man.

timka86 02-28-2008 07:47 AM

UPDATE 2/28/08:

GREAT NEWS!!! The passenger side axle along with the intermediate axle, and the bracket that bolts to the block are an ideal fit, PERFECT. There's no need to modify the axle what-so-ever to fit the grand am:):):). I should be getting the driver's side any day, hopefully today to put that one in.

Here's some pics, of everything coming together including brand new shiny 65mm TB (thank you MPRacing): (it's a little crowded above the trans, but not as bad as it seems, and there is WAY more room behind the engine now much easier to get back there now.
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6016.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6017.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6018.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6023.jpg
http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f3...P/IMG_6024.jpg

I should have it started tomorrow at the latest, maybe even today. There's still the wiring issue, I have to pull out my remote starter unit (crappy part is it only worked when it was warm outside, when it's cold, it sets of the alarm, and doesn't start)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com