GrandAmGT.com Forum

GrandAmGT.com Forum (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/index.php)
-   All Go (Performance modifications) (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Possible Swap (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81732)

Silver Bullet 11-25-2009 12:45 PM

Possible Swap
 
I had some problems with my engine ever since my brother took my car out for a drive when I had my CAI on and it sucked up some water. So I was planning on getting a new engine, I don't know if I want to stick with the 3400 or if I could fit a 3800 Series II or III non-supercharged in. Also, if I do go with the 3800 will i have to buy specialized parts as in a CAI or will everything still fit if i just buy for the 3800?

lastryghts 11-25-2009 01:31 PM

search 3800 won't fit without a ton of modification if at all. Search 3500 swap

Nick-G 11-25-2009 03:10 PM

:newbie:

SpyhunteR 11-25-2009 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lastryghts (Post 1103577)
search 3800 won't fit without a ton of modification if at all. Search 3500 swap

as much as you were helpful you also sound noobish.

AaronGTR 11-25-2009 04:56 PM

Why the hell would you want to swap in a non supercharged 3800, much less swap in a 3800 at all? A stock 3800 makes about the same HP as a 3400 but is a larger, heavier, less advanced design motor. It would be a step backwards!

CraiGT 11-25-2009 06:32 PM

Get the 3800 idea out of your head.

2001GrandAmGT 11-26-2009 06:55 AM

umm...i kinda like the idea...only because dont they make more mods for the 3.8??..you can also rip a supercharger outta any GTP an go supercharged....idk maybe i am confused.

K WeRd 11-26-2009 07:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2001GrandAmGT (Post 1103656)
umm...i kinda like the idea...only because dont they make more mods for the 3.8??..you can also rip a supercharger outta any GTP an go supercharged....idk maybe i am confused.

Why swap to a 3800? Why? Reread Aaron what already stated. That is, if you can even get it to work. Doubtful. If you are going to do a swap, do a 2.2 Eco swap. Lighter motor, can put down some serious power.

CraiGT 11-26-2009 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2001GrandAmGT (Post 1103656)
umm...i kinda like the idea...only because dont they make more mods for the 3.8??..you can also rip a supercharger outta any GTP an go supercharged....idk maybe i am confused.

To run the L67 supercharger on the L36 N/A motor, you need the L67 LIM, L67 heads, L67 wiring, L67 PCM, L67 fuel rail, pretty much the whole top end to make it work.

Silver Bullet 12-05-2009 09:08 AM

a 3800 can put out a ton of power, I have a friend who drives a 3800 Firebird that is pushing out 600 hp, and the most i've seen anyone push out with a 3400 is around 400. and yes i know it is going to take a ton of modification. but i think i've found someone who is willing to put in the work and time to do just that. so again, why not the 3800?

AaronGTR 12-05-2009 09:22 AM

Because it is a larger heavier motor. It will ruin the cars balance and you'll have a tough time getting it to work right. Only two people have ever successfully completed a 3800 sc swap that ran, and neither one performed very well. Besides the fact that once they were done with all the custom work needed to make the engine fit and run, they didn't have any money left to mod the engine, and they had electronic issues as well like the gauge cluster not working. One of them was running TWO separate pcm's with a custom wiring harness. Do you really want to do all that? For all the money you'll spend just swapping a 3800sc into your car, you could mod a 3400 or 3500 and upgrade the trans for the same money and end up being faster.

There you go, that's why not.



The 3400 is capable and has put out more than 400hp when modified properly. Most people just never take it that far. If all you care about is end HP potential though, forget about the 3800 and put an ecotec in there. Open up the gm performance parts catalogue and you're on your way to 1000hp.... and a silly undriveable grand am. 300whp is about all a fwd street car can effectively use. 400whp is pushing it and you'll only be able to use it all above 40mph. Anything more than that will all just be wasted without rwd or 4wd.

alerored04 12-05-2009 09:24 AM

Because with the amount of time and money to get the 3800 in and running you could have built a very nice 3400 that makes tons of power and weighs 100lbs less. No one has done a complete build on a 3400 yet, no one knows what kind of power they can make when built completely. Plus I have a feeling that this will never happen anyway. If you have to rely on someone else for the majority of the work I doubt it will get done.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com