GrandAmGT.com Forum

GrandAmGT.com Forum (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/index.php)
-   Technical Q&A (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Disabling DRLs for 2001 Grand Am GT? (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=86660)

xINVICTUS28x 01-12-2012 06:44 PM

Disabling DRLs for 2001 Grand Am GT?
 
Ok so I've looked threw some threads and around google and can not find a clear answer. I know how to do it for every other year, but apparently for the 2001 and 2002 year if you do it the normal way, it sends back a SVS light. I can not find a way that makes it so that doesn't happen. Does anyone know how or found a thread that explains it? I'm about to put in some HIDs and need to disable the DRLs. Thanks!

TruGreenGAGT 01-12-2012 07:26 PM

I have a 01 and all I did was cut the blue wire and grounded it (basically what every way is explained for the 99-00) and have no SVS light

GrandAmGTCoupe 01-12-2012 07:36 PM

Search!! There is a 30 page thread on disabling them

xINVICTUS28x 01-12-2012 07:56 PM

I know there is. I went threw 16 pages of it and had to go to work. Just wondered if anyone knew a certain page or anything. It seems to be fickle. works for some doesn't for others. Seems to be as long as you unplug the battery and have a good ground it will work.

xINVICTUS28x 01-12-2012 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TruGreenGAGT (Post 1170444)
I have a 01 and all I did was cut the blue wire and grounded it (basically what every way is explained for the 99-00) and have no SVS light

where and how did you ground your wire?

TruGreenGAGT 01-12-2012 08:01 PM

follow this

CLICK ME

and for ground I had my glovebox removed and just found a screw going into the metal frame somewhere behind the dash, and put the wire there

xINVICTUS28x 01-12-2012 08:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TruGreenGAGT (Post 1170450)
follow this

CLICK ME

and for ground I had my glovebox removed and just found a screw going into the metal frame somewhere behind the dash, and put the wire there

Alright thanks. I'll try it out this weekend.

TruGreenGAGT 01-12-2012 08:08 PM

I'd tell ya exact location of ground but to be honest I did this 3 yrs ago and can't remember lol
an hope it works out for ya

xINVICTUS28x 01-12-2012 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TruGreenGAGT (Post 1170452)
I'd tell ya exact location of ground but to be honest I did this 3 yrs ago and can't remember lol
an hope it works out for ya

haha well thanks :) real quick, does is matter what size wire to use to connect the blue wire to the ground? I'm completely stupid when it comes to electrical stuff lol that's why I've had to ask for so much help

TruGreenGAGT 01-12-2012 08:29 PM

try an use the same size or size bigger

xINVICTUS28x 01-12-2012 08:30 PM

alright thanks man.

Smithkid21 01-12-2012 08:55 PM

Otherwise if you don't wanna take out the glovebox, you can run it up to the passenger side fuse box on the inside when you open the door, and ground it on the screw that's in there. I got mine there, and no codes or anything.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com