GrandAmGT.com Forum

GrandAmGT.com Forum (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/index.php)
-   HOW TO's (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   No Transmission stick on my car..... (http://www.grandamgt.com/forum/showthread.php?t=87011)

MECHANICwannaBE 03-29-2012 06:59 AM

No Transmission stick on my car.....
 
:attentionHello.
I have a 2000 pontiac grand am se coupe 2.4L and quad 4 twin cam. I dont have a transmission stick to check the oil.... How would i do so if no stick is present? I was also thinking to do a transmission filter job but i dont want to do so if it doesnt need to be done.. Some help would be awesome!!
Thanks-ED

sleepyalero 03-29-2012 01:01 PM

idk about the 2.4's but in the 3.4's they came without dip sticks, which means its a "sealed transmission"

on the 3,4 you have to have the car running and pull out a bolt on the pass side of the tranny, if fluid flows out... your full.... if not then you need to add oil till it does come out then put the bolt back in the side of the transmission..

but like i said, idk if its the same for the 2.4

HOYS 03-29-2012 02:30 PM

The procedure is the same from the 3.4 V6 4T45E to the 2.4L I4 4T40E.

There is no dipstick. Usually the train of thought is do to this around 80-100k miles on the clock. If the transmission is shifting badly already then this will most likely make it worse (or not better).

MECHANICwannaBE 03-29-2012 07:54 PM

Well i notice on my second shift it will hit 3.5 RPM is that good? Im not too sure but i was thinking to get a transmission filter change do you think it is necessary?

MECHANICwannaBE 03-30-2012 07:06 AM

Also how would i add the oil if there is no dipstick?

rocketfast123 03-30-2012 07:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MECHANICwannaBE (Post 1174273)
Well i notice on my second shift it will hit 3.5 RPM is that good? Im not too sure but i was thinking to get a transmission filter change do you think it is necessary?

Normal for a 2.4 if you are on it a little. I would go ahead and do it.

Quote:

Also how would i add the oil if there is no dipstick?
Thru the cap on top of the trans.

MECHANICwannaBE 03-30-2012 08:31 AM

If you dont mind me asking... Once i get all the trans oil do i just add it all in or add half start the car and add the rest? Yea i forgot about the cap on top lol but before i do all this i have to replace my axle seal because i was told i have a minor leak of trans oil from there...
Thanks for help
Approved Rep for all

rocketfast123 03-30-2012 01:57 PM

I just added it all and called it a day. It's like 6.8qt for a pan drop. I put all 7qts in. Then again my car did not have any leaks.

MECHANICwannaBE 04-05-2012 08:32 AM

its the part where my axle seal is no big deal small like surface leak nothing im cryin about $20 fix. But the point its there will bug me so of course im gonnna fix it...
But i am going to get it done but i wanna do it myself ( transmission filter ) so i know what kind was put in and how it looks.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com