GrandAmGT.com Forum
http://www.pfyc.com GrandAmGT.com Premium Memership Signup
RotorsOnline.com   

Go Back   GrandAmGT.com Forum > GAGT - Modifications - Sponsored by RedlineGoods.com > All Show (Appearance modifications)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
Chazzels
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Chas
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Posts: 5
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am
Chazzels Gettin' there
New interior LED lights *help*

I bought red LED strips that run at 12v so they hook up to any fuse in the care easily and nicely. I would like them to operate under the same principle as the dome interior light in my car (only current interior light in my car) door open = light on, door closed = light off.

I have the wiring diagram for this light but i can not find where the power to the dome light comes from. ive been searching my junction block and no luck.

any one successfully done this? cant find any results for this.

ive spent the last 8 hours in the garage. got a few more ideas. please if you have anything i would love to know.

*edit* // these lights are going in the footwells of the driver and passenger sides

Last edited by Chazzels; 08-13-2012 at 03:58 PM.
Chazzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 03:56 PM   #2
TDavis
GAGT - Junkie
 
TDavis's Avatar
 
AKA: Tanner
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,871
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SC/T
TDavis a trusted member
Should've just got some red LEDs from superbrightleds.com that replace the stock dome light. Would of been easier.

Thread explaining stock bulb to LED conversions:

http://www.gaownersclub.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=137077
__________________
Mods: Alotta sht

Last edited by TDavis; 08-13-2012 at 03:58 PM.
TDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 04:00 PM   #3
Chazzels
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Chas
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Posts: 5
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am
Chazzels Gettin' there
im putting them in the foot well. next I am going to update my dome lights to some LEDs. i would use the wiring for the lights that are usually in the footwells on most cars but mine doesn't have any and from all signs i see there never was any in place or the wiring for them.
Chazzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 10:37 PM   #4
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,197
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
There are lights in the foot well. Yours might be burned out or something but they are there. All grand ams have them. They are mounted in the kick panel up under the dash board. Removed the panels and you should see them and the bulb housing and wiring for them. You should be able to tap into that wiring to get the on/off operation you want. You just can't hook too many lights up to the same wire because the wire gauge isn't that big and you don't want to overload the circuit. Luckily LED's are fairly low wattage draw though.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:12 AM   #5
handon
GAGT - Member
 
AKA: Brandon
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rogersville, MO
Posts: 120
Vehicle: 2002 Grand Am SE
handon Gettin' there
I'm having the same problem as the OP.. My GA has no footwell lights whatsoever - burned out or not, they are nonexistent. I've looked many times and nothing :/ Which wires could I tap into before the headliner that would give me the same function as the main dome without having to tear it down? I'm really lusting after some footwell lights and would be very grateful to anyone who could help me
handon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 06:45 AM   #6
msmith1956
GAGT - Member
 
msmith1956's Avatar
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bremen, GA
Age: 60
Posts: 149
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am SE
msmith1956 Gettin' there
Send a message via Yahoo to msmith1956
I have a 2004 GA and mine has no footwell lights either. I had heard that GM did some de-contenting on these cars around '02 or '03, and I guess that was one of the features they removed, along with the glovebox lock, and traction control as standard equipment.
msmith1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:21 AM   #7
TDavis
GAGT - Junkie
 
TDavis's Avatar
 
AKA: Tanner
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,871
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SC/T
TDavis a trusted member
Are you sure they aren't just burnt out?
__________________
Mods: Alotta sht
TDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:11 AM   #8
TruGreenGAGT
Never Done......
 
TruGreenGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Jim
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hemet, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,063
Vehicle: 01 Grand Am GT1 Coupe
TruGreenGAGT a trusted member
only the 99-00 GA's had the footwell lighting.....01-05 won't have them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bricooper78 View Post
No fair, Jim has all the good toys!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipnitty View Post
Because you were wearing a green shirt, with a green phone cover, a green hat, a green car with green interior with green on the green, a green green that you cleaned with simple green, and it all went with your green.
Quote:
Originally Posted by young gun View Post
Green is like the bat signal. Just type it and Jim's all over it

MY CARDOMAIN
TruGreenGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:19 AM   #9
TDavis
GAGT - Junkie
 
TDavis's Avatar
 
AKA: Tanner
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,871
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SC/T
TDavis a trusted member
That's odd, I see no reason to take the foot lighting out of the newer models.
__________________
Mods: Alotta sht
TDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
Chazzels
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Chas
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Posts: 5
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am
Chazzels Gettin' there
well regardless there is one solution that i have been working on, theres just one problem.. i cant find one white wire.

In my haynes wiring diagram the white wire to the dome lamp comes from the left side junction box (next to the fuse box on the driver side). ive metered all the white wires in there. none of the have a 12v current when the doors are open. so it must run somewhere else.

it is also possible it comes out of the BCM unit but since there are so many wires coming out of there its hard to tell. and i have not been able to find any complete listing of what each BCM connection does.

But if anyone has tracked the line that wires form the dome light follow we could just tap into that as a trigger.
Chazzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:41 AM   #11
Chazzels
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Chas
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Posts: 5
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am
Chazzels Gettin' there
These are the new lights they are controlled by a switch right under my head unit. currently wired into the same fuse as my turning lamps.


grandamgt01 by Chazzels, on Flickr Pentax // K5 18-55mm f3.5
Chazzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:58 AM   #12
TDavis
GAGT - Junkie
 
TDavis's Avatar
 
AKA: Tanner
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,871
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SC/T
TDavis a trusted member
What type of CD deck is that?

Thats the type I'd like to get since its red and matches the interior a little bit.

Also, is that deck a 2 DIN, 1.5, or 1?
__________________
Mods: Alotta sht

Last edited by TDavis; 08-15-2012 at 12:10 PM.
TDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:15 PM   #13
Chazzels
GAGT - Newbie
 
AKA: Chas
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Posts: 5
Vehicle: 2003 Grand Am
Chazzels Gettin' there
It's a Pioneer DEH-1300mp. I believe my brother in law installed it for me when I bought the car. Plays cd great and has a audio line in. RCA out. lots of eq control

Highly recommend it your looking for something cheaper but still want a nicer quality

No complaints.. Yet

And I think 1.5 din

Last edited by Chazzels; 08-15-2012 at 12:25 PM.
Chazzels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:26 PM   #14
TruGreenGAGT
Never Done......
 
TruGreenGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Jim
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hemet, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,063
Vehicle: 01 Grand Am GT1 Coupe
TruGreenGAGT a trusted member
remove the pass side A-pillar I believe the wires from the dome run down to the BCM
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bricooper78 View Post
No fair, Jim has all the good toys!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipnitty View Post
Because you were wearing a green shirt, with a green phone cover, a green hat, a green car with green interior with green on the green, a green green that you cleaned with simple green, and it all went with your green.
Quote:
Originally Posted by young gun View Post
Green is like the bat signal. Just type it and Jim's all over it

MY CARDOMAIN
TruGreenGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:05 AM   #15
xUnderCoverHoBo
GAGT - Member
 
xUnderCoverHoBo's Avatar
 
AKA: Jarrett
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Unknown
Age: 24
Posts: 1,007
Vehicle: 2012 Honda Civic
xUnderCoverHoBo Gettin' there
Tanner i would suggest a jvc r331 head unit. Not expensive at all and u can have everything on it be whatever color you want red is stock on it
__________________
Poor college student mods...

xUnderCoverHoBo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:16 PM   #16
TDavis
GAGT - Junkie
 
TDavis's Avatar
 
AKA: Tanner
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 25
Posts: 3,871
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am SC/T
TDavis a trusted member
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUnderCoverHoBo View Post
Tanner i would suggest a jvc r331 head unit. Not expensive at all and u can have everything on it be whatever color you want red is stock on it
Yeah that one doesn't look too bad either. I have time to think though as this is not until way later in the future, I'm fine with stock atm.
__________________
Mods: Alotta sht
TDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:28 PM   #17
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,197
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
That's really weird. I've never heard of a grand am without footwell lights. That's a pretty standard feature on all cars these days, so it does make much sense for GM to take them out. Talk about cheap!
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:04 PM   #18
TruGreenGAGT
Never Done......
 
TruGreenGAGT's Avatar
 
AKA: Jim
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hemet, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 2,063
Vehicle: 01 Grand Am GT1 Coupe
TruGreenGAGT a trusted member
they took out the glove box lock on the later yrs.....every penny adds up over thousands of vehicles
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bricooper78 View Post
No fair, Jim has all the good toys!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by tipnitty View Post
Because you were wearing a green shirt, with a green phone cover, a green hat, a green car with green interior with green on the green, a green green that you cleaned with simple green, and it all went with your green.
Quote:
Originally Posted by young gun View Post
Green is like the bat signal. Just type it and Jim's all over it

MY CARDOMAIN
TruGreenGAGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:28 PM   #19
msmith1956
GAGT - Member
 
msmith1956's Avatar
 
AKA: Mark
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bremen, GA
Age: 60
Posts: 149
Vehicle: 2004 Grand Am SE
msmith1956 Gettin' there
Send a message via Yahoo to msmith1956
Quote:
Originally Posted by TruGreenGAGT View Post
they took out the glove box lock on the later yrs.....every penny adds up over thousands of vehicles
Yeah, they also made ABS, and ETC options as well. My '04 has neither of those.
msmith1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 07:46 PM   #20
AaronGTR
BlingWithBallz
 
AaronGTR's Avatar
 
AKA: Aaron
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Detroit area, MI
Age: 39
Posts: 12,197
Vehicle: 2000 Grand Am GT1 2dr
AaronGTR has made plenty of valid pointsAaronGTR has made plenty of valid points
Quote:
Originally Posted by TruGreenGAGT View Post
they took out the glove box lock on the later yrs.....every penny adds up over thousands of vehicles

Yeah, every penny adds up... but they also add up into negative brand perception over cheapness and low quality. That's one of the problems Bob Lutz had dealing with the engineers and the "bean counters" at GM. Trying to convince them that spending the money on the details is what changes customers perceptions of their cars. It pays off in media reviews, and ultimately in sales and custom retention too. If you want to move cars, people have to think they are getting good value relative to the competition. Competition that includes things like foot well lighting, glove box locks, and especially ABS and traction control, as standard. These are all things that customers EXPECT in cars, even back in 2000. Now in 2012 you could never even sell a car without those things. Even economy cars have them now, and ABS/stability control are government mandated now.
__________________
The few, the proud, the boosted!
13.788 @ 103.73 mph (3/2011) 320 whp and 300 ft/lbs torque. (3/2011)
See it here. the total package.

Last edited by AaronGTR; 08-17-2012 at 07:52 PM.
AaronGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dome, interior lights, led, lighrs, wire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 GrandAmGT.com
RotorsOnline.com